Tea Tupajić

Licht

Licht
Licht

20.04 – 21.04.2023

For Licht, Tea Tupajić uses the power of theatre to reach a place where language and other media cannot get to. For a year, she invited four Yezidi women to retreat together and undertake the journey towards performance.

On an empty stage, the women share the most profound memories of their bodies. All are 'survivors'; their bodies have been violated. The body tells this story through few words: it shakes, loses balance and connects with the viewer, in a shared yet intimate encounter. A sort of night watch. An expulsion from the wounds of the past, a moment of healing and an ecstatic celebration of survival.

• Tea Tupajić (Sarajevo, 1984) is a Croatian theatre and film director and writer. She regularly engages in long-term processes where she invites protagonists who either seem too reluctant to go on stage or have a lot to lose by doing so. This lets her explore the potential of art in confrontation with controversial political and personal issues. Licht will be played only a handful of times in a few cities. 

“Het werk van Tea Tupajić werk is als een ijzingwekkend snelle afdaling naar de wereld van de duisternis” - Modern Times Review 


presented by KVS & Kaaitheater

direction Tea Tupajić | co-production Munich Kammerspiele & Kaaitheater

Tea Tupajić

Licht

Licht
Licht

20.04 – 21.04.2023

Pour Licht, Tea Tupajić utilise le pouvoir du théâtre pour atteindre un lieu où la langue et les autres médias ne peuvent pas se rendre. Pendant un an, elle invite quatre femmes yézidies à se retirer ensemble et à entreprendre un voyage vers la performance.

Sur une scène vide, les femmes partageront leurs souvenirs les plus profonds. Elles sont toutes des «survivantes »; leurs corps ont été violés. Le corps relate cette histoire avec une économie de mots : il tremble, perd l'équilibre et entre en contact avec le·a spectateur·ice, dans une rencontre partagée mais intime. Une sorte de veillée nocturne. Une expulsion des blessures du passé, un moment de guérison et une célébration extatique de la survie.

• Tea Tupajić (Sarajevo, 1984) est une écrivaine et metteuse en scène de théâtre et de cinéma croate. Elle s'engage régulièrement dans des processus à long terme où elle invite des protagonistes qui semblent trop réticent·es à monter sur scène ou qui ont beaucoup à perdre en le faisant. Elle explore ainsi le potentiel de l'art dans la confrontation avec des questions politiques et personnelles controversées. Licht ne sera joué qu'une poignée de fois dans quelques villes. 

 «L'œuvre de Tea Tupajić est comme une descente d'une rapidité glaçante dans le monde des ténèbres. »  - Modern Times Review.


presented by KVS & Kaaitheater

direction Tea Tupajić | co-production Munich Kammerspiele & Kaaitheater