Jija Sohn

Lands of Concert

15.12 – 16.12.2021

In Lands of Concert, artists Jija Sohn, Andrea Zavala Folache, Lucy Wilke, Julia Reist and Oneka Von Schrader mix performance with workshop. They blur the boundaries between artist and spectator, and opt for radical intimacy. Together with the audience, they look beyond contradictions and entrenched polarised positions.

For the performance at the Kaaistudio’s, Lands of Concert extends itself as a piece and practice towards the ongoing health situation, revisiting our human reality and the fragility within this work. In this version we embrace a current mirror of our times that brings new limitations and obstacles such as physical closeness.

Lands of Concert is based on the CARE principle, which focuses on recognising diversity and acceptance. The body is the starting point: the concrete, physical basis that we share and that is different for everyone. Through open communication, you and the artists shift physical and intellectual boundaries, and you help develop a new movement language.

By proposing this hybrid version where Lucy is digitally present, the public is invited to enter the practice of distance intimacy, questioning what these paradigm shifts are towards new demands and needs of our bodies and to still apply the protocols of care we used as a basis for our practice?

The makers appeal to everyone's imagination to listen to their own bodies with a deeper focus. What does each specific body need? What attention does it require? Based on each person's physical abilities, the five of them create their own protocol for a game of giving and receiving care, using the giving and following of directions in movement, music and words. Together, you will discover new thinking patterns and redefine your own position, that of the other, and that of the body as a form of limitation.

•  Jija Sohn is a Japanese-Korean performing artist based in Amsterdam. Prior to her performing career, she earned a master's degree in applied linguistics from Purdue University in the US. For the past two years her work has explored human connections and relationships. This resulted in two community-based projects – including Lands of Concert. It is the first time that we welcome Jija Sohn to Kaaitheater.

‘It’s disarming what they have done, this patient plea for us to truly take each other in, without irony, and in such a quiet and unassuming manner.’ – DANS&DURF


concept Jija Sohn, Andrea Zavala Folache, Lucy Wilke, Oneka Von Schrader & Julia Reist | performers Antonia Steffens & Lucy Wilke | performing assistents Jija Sohn & Julia Reist | composition, sound design & performer Oneka Von Schrader | scenography & costumes Rosemarie Allaert | advisor Sabine Cmelniski | light advisor Vinny Jones | creative production, dramaturgical consultant & conceptual consultant Julia Reist / arp:works | production arp:works | co-production Dans Brabant | supported by Kaaitheater, PLAN, BUDA, Voo?uit, Boulevard Theater Festival, i-Portunus, Batard Festival, Needcompany, VEEM House & de Brakke Grond | residencies CSC, Tanzhaus, Dans Brabant, Festival Boulevard, Dansatelier, City of Women & Needcompany | this project is an initiative of Jija Sohn

There's more

Learn more - Lands of Concert

Learn more - Lands of Concert
Learn more - Lands of Concert

article

Mon 13.12.21

Learn more about Lands of Concert

Jija Sohn

Lands of Concert

Lands of Concert
Lands of Concert

15.12 – 16.12.2021

Dans Lands of Concert, les artistes Jija Sohn, Andrea Zavala Folache, Lucy Wilke et Oneka Von Schrader combinent spectacle et atelier. Elles estompent la frontière entre artiste et public et optent pour une intimité radicale. Avec le public, elles regardent par-delà les antagonismes et positions polarisées sclérosées.

Lands of Concert s’inspire du principe du CARE qui se focalise sur la reconnaissance de la diversité et de l’acceptation. Le point de départ est le corps : la base concrète, physique que nous partageons tous et toutes et qui est différente pour chacun·e. Par le biais d’une communication ouverte, le public et les artistes déplacent ensemble des frontières physiques et développent de la sorte un nouveau vocabulaire gestuel.

Les quatre créatrices font appel à la force d’imagination de chacun pour écouter son propre corps avec une concentration approfondie. Quels sont les besoins de chaque corps ? Quelle attention requiert-il ? À partir des possibilités physiques de chacun, le quatuor crée son propre protocole pour un jeu qui consiste à recevoir et à offrir du care (soin). Pour ce faire, il faut donner et suivre des indications en matière de mouvement, de musique et de parole. Ensemble, on découvre de nouveaux schémas de réflexion et on redéfinit sa propre position, celle de l’autre, et celle du corps en tant que forme de délimitation.

• Jija Sohn est une artiste du spectacle vivant japonaise et coréenne, établie à Amsterdam. Avant sa carrière scénique, elle a obtenu un master en linguistique appliquée à l’Université de Purdue aux États-Unis. Depuis deux ans, son travail étudie les liens et les relations entre humains. Cela a donné lieu à deux projets collectifs – dont Lands of Concert. Nous accueillons Jija Sohn pour la première fois au Kaaitheater.

« Ce qu’elles font est désarmant ; ce plaidoyer patient pour que nous prenions véritablement soin les uns des autres, qu’elles livrent sans ironie et de manière tellement sereine et humble. » DANS&DURF


concept Jija Sohn, Andrea Zavala Folache, Lucy Wilke, Oneka Von Schrader & Julia Reist | performer Andrea Zavala Folache & Lucy Wilke | performing assistent Jija Sohn | sound design & performer Oneka Von Schrader | scenography & costumes Rosemarie Allaert | advisor Sabine Cmelniski | light advisor Vinny Jones | creative production & conceptual consultant Julia Reist / arp:works | co-production Dans Brabant | support PLAN, Kunstencentrum Buda, Kunstencentrum Voo?uit, Boulevard Theater Festival, i-Portunus, Batard Festival & Needcompany | residencies CSC, Tanzhaus, Dans Brabant, Festival Boulevard, Dansatelier, City of Women & Needcompany | this project is an initiative of Jija Sohn