Michiel Vandevelde [BE]

Lamakh

Lamakh
Lamakh

04.04 – 05.04.2019

Can dance be a tool to imagine the future? Can you make science fiction with choreography? Michiel Vandevelde aims to answer these questions with the abstract drawings of Valery Pavlovich Lamakh (1925-1978). This Ukrainian artist spent 30 years constructing a cosmological mythology – his Book of Schemas – in which he explores the knowledge that we can derive from light. According to Lamakh, ‘the schemas approach one another infinitely. They shine and blur, while expressing the ineffability of the world’. Starting from Lamakh’s visual material, Vandevelde has created an alienating choreography that offers you a glimpse of a possible future. Whether this future looks utopic or dystopic depends on how you look at it.

• Artist-in-residence Michiel Vandevelde – a graduate from PARTS who is active as a choreographer and curator of Extra City – has been noted over the past few years for his quadriptych about re-appropriation in which he transforms popular dance motifs into something new. Three productions in this series were staged at Kaaitheater: Antithesis, Our times, and Andrade.


choreography Michiel Vandevelde | with Jara Vlaeminckx, Bryana Fritz, a.o. | costume Lila John | dramaturgy Esther Severi | technique Tom Bruwier | production Disagree. vzw | co-production Kaaitheater, PACT Zollverein, Buda, Pianofabriek | residency Kaaitheater, Stuk – House for Dance, Image and Sound, deSingel , PACT Zollverein, Buda, Pianofabriek | management Klein Verzet vzw

Related content

Michiel Vandevelde & 431

Precarious Pavilions #2 – The New Local

Precarious Pavilions #2 – The New Local
Precarious Pavilions #2 – The New Local

production

Tue 09.10 - Sat 13.10.18

Artist-in-residence at Kaaitheater Michiel Vandevelde is touring four cities with his Precarious Pavilions. In each city, he builds a pavilion with a different artist, each time asking the question: ‘How do we deal with space and architecture in this unstable world?’ For his second pavilion in Brussels, choreographer Michiel Vandevelde and the collective 431 are coming to the Place de la Monnaie.

The Political Party

Alternative Election Show

debate

Alternative Election Show
Alternative Election Show

production

Tue 30.04.19

On the eve of the European and Federal elections, The Political Party is collaborating with Kaaitheater to organize an alternative election show. Come and campaign with us on this intense day packed with debates, lectures, workshops, and performances.

Michiel Vandevelde [BE]

Lamakh

Lamakh
Lamakh

04.04 – 05.04.2019

La danse peut-elle être un outil pour représenter l’avenir ? Peut-on créer de la science-fiction avec une chorégraphie ? Michiel Vandevelde souhaite répondre à ces questions à la faveur de dessins abstraits de Valery Pavlovich Lamakh (1925-1978). Cet artiste ukrainien a travaillé trente ans à une cosmologie mythologique – son Livre des Schémas – dans laquelle il cherche à savoir quelle connaissance nous pouvons puiser de la lumière. Selon Lamakh, « les schémas s’approchent infiniment. Ils brillent et s’estompent alors qu’ils expriment l’inexprimable de l’univers. » En prenant le matériel visuel de Lamakh comme point de départ, Vandevelde crée une chorégraphie étrange qui nous permet d’entrevoir un avenir possible. Avenir utopique ou dystopique ? Tout dépend de la façon dont on le voit.

• L’artiste en résidence au Kaaitheater, Michiel Vandevelde – diplômé de PARTS et actif en tant que chorégraphe et commissaire d’expositions à Extra City – s’est fait remarquer au cours des dernières années avec un quadriptyque autour de la réappropriation dans lequel il transforme des motifs de danse populaire en quelque chose de nouveau. Trois de ces spectacles ont figuré au programme du Kaaitheater : Antithesis, Our times et Andrade.


choreography Michiel Vandevelde | with Jara Vlaeminckx, Bryana Fritz, a.o. | costume Lila John | dramaturgy Esther Severi | technique Tom Bruwier | production Disagree. vzw | co-production Kaaitheater, PACT Zollverein, Buda, Pianofabriek | residency Kaaitheater, Stuk – House for Dance, Image and Sound, deSingel , PACT Zollverein, Buda, Pianofabriek | management Klein Verzet vzw

Sujets apparentés

Michiel Vandevelde & 431

Precarious Pavilions #2 – The New Local

Precarious Pavilions #2 – The New Local
Precarious Pavilions #2 – The New Local

production

ma 09.10 - sa 13.10.18

Avec Precarious Pavilions, l'artiste en résidence au Kaaitheater Michiel Vandevelde voyage dans quatre villes. Dans chacune, il construit un pavillon avec un autre artiste, chaque fois autour de la question : « Comment abordons-nous l’espace et l’architecture dans ce monde instable ? » Pour le deuxième pavillon de la série, le chorégraphe Michiel Vandevelde et le collectif 431 atterrissent place de la Monnaie.

The Political Party

Alternative Election Show

débat

Alternative Election Show
Alternative Election Show

production

ma 30.04.19

À la veille des élections européennes et fédérales, The Political Party et le Kaaitheater organisent conjointement un spectacle électoral alternatif. Venez participer à cette journée remplie de débats, de conférences, d’ateliers et de performances.