Ivo Van Hove / Toneelgroep Amsterdam & NTGent [NL/BE]

Kinderen van de Zon

Kinderen van de Zon
Kinderen van de Zon

22.02 – 23.02.2011

The human of the future

Protassof, a scientist, is working like a man possessed on developing the human of the future. He will overcome his biological limitations and found a new society. In the meantime, Protassof is unaware of what is happening around him. He shuts outs rumours of an uprising and cholera in the city. He loses himself in experiments and discussions with the artist Wagin and the vet Tschepoernoy. They talk feverishly about great ideals and the extent to which mankind can be shaped, but in the meantime they cause considerable damage to their immediate environment.

● In Children of the Sun, Maxim Gorky (1868-1936) portrays several intellectuals who have withdrawn from society and dedicated themselves to science, art and love, but realise too late that their ideas do not square with reality. Ivo Van Hove directs the piece as a reflection on the position of the intelligentsia in society today.


van Maksim Gorki | regie Ivo Van Hove | vertaling Tom Kleijn  | bewerking en dramaturgie Peter van Kraaij | scenografie Jan Versweyveld | met Jacob Derwig, Halina Reijn, Elsie de Brauw, Gijs Scholten van Aschat, Wim Opbrouck, Frieda Pittoors, Chico Kenzari e.a. | productie Toneelgroep Amsterdam & NTGent

Ivo Van Hove / Toneelgroep Amsterdam & NTGent [NL/BE]

Kinderen van de Zon

Kinderen van de Zon
Kinderen van de Zon

22.02 – 23.02.2011

L’être humain du futur

Le scientifique Protassov travaille comme un forcené au développement de l’être humain du futur. Celui-ci surmontera ses limitations biologiques et fondera une nouvelle société. Entre-temps, Protassov ne perçoit rien de ce qui se déroule autour de lui. Replié sur lui-même, il n’entend pas les rumeurs d’émeutes et d’épidémie de choléra en ville. Il se perd dans ses expériences et ses discussions avec l’artiste Vaguine et le vétérinaire Tchépournoï. Ils discutent fiévreusement de grands idéaux et de la faisabilité de l’être humain, mais entre-temps, ils causent beaucoup de tort à leur entourage direct.

● Dans Les Enfants du Soleil, Maxime Gorki (1868-1936) brosse le portrait d’un certain nombre d’intellectuels qui s'isolent de la société pour se consacrer à la science, l’art et l’amour, et ne prennent que tardivement conscience que leurs conceptions ne correspondent pas à la dure réalité. La mise en scène d’Ivo van Hove constitue une réflexion sur la position de l’intelligentsia dans notre société contemporaine.


van Maksim Gorki | regie Ivo Van Hove | vertaling Tom Kleijn  | bewerking en dramaturgie Peter van Kraaij | scenografie Jan Versweyveld | met Jacob Derwig, Halina Reijn, Elsie de Brauw, Gijs Scholten van Aschat, Wim Opbrouck, Frieda Pittoors, Chico Kenzari e.a. | productie Toneelgroep Amsterdam & NTGent