PAK [Zürich]

Kanalbühne

Kanalbühne
Kanalbühne

02.06.2006

On 2nd June, the Kaaitheater will present a new project by the four artists of the Swiss PAK collective (stands for Praxis für Angewandte Kunst). Since the start of this season Susan Hengartner, Katrin Simonett, Claudia Thiesen and Daniela Wettstein have regularly spent time in Brussels, on commission to Kaaitheater, applying their concept of ‘applied art’ to the Brussels context.

They were intrigued by a piece of open space that thousands of Brussels people pass every day: the ‘hole’ formed by the two bridges over the canal at Sainctelettesquare. It is an empty space, a specimen of Brussels non-urbanisation that once took shape on a designer’s drawing board. A no man’s land over which 1 region, 3 regional and para-regional institutions, 2 local authorities, 4 districts in 2 police zones, 5 intermunicipal utility companies and 2 companies each have their say.

2nd June: opening of the exhibition

PAK will show the results of their months of research in two ways. On 2nd June they will put on a series of performances in the course of the day: several choreographed, more or less subtle or obvious interventions in the everyday course of events at this location. The performances or 'interventions' take place at 12:30, 18:30 and 19:30. You can also follow them live on a screen in the Kaaithater foyer, where you are kindly invited to a drink at 12:30 and 18:30.

In an exhibition (in the same foyer) they will show drawings and photomontages of other interventions (not carried out or impossible to carry out). As from the second week a video record of the interventions of 2nd June will be included in the exhibition.

More >>


Avec le soutien de Pro Helvetia, Schweizer Kulturstiftung

PAK [Zürich]

Kanalbühne

Kanalbühne
Kanalbühne

02.06.2006

Le 2 juin prochain, le Kaaitheater présente le nouveau projet des quatres artistes suisses du collectif PAK (acronyme de Praxis für Angewandte Kunst ou Pratique d'art appliqué). Depuis le début de la saison, Susan Hengartner, Katrin Simonett, Claudia Thiesen et Daniela Wettstein ont régulièrement, à la demande du Kaaitheater, séjourné à Bruxelles pour y modeler leur concept d’« art appliqué » dans un contexte bruxellois.

Elles ont été intriguées par un petit coin d’espace public, où des milliers de Bruxellois passent quotidiennement : le quadrilatère vacant à proximité du Kaaitheater, formé par les deux ponts et les deux rives du canal, à hauteur de la place Sainctelette (à côté du Kaaitheater). C’est un espace vide, un témoin de cette non-urbanisation bruxelloise qui a vu le jour autour d’une table de dessin. Un no man’s land sous l’autorité de 1 région, 3 organisations régionales et pararégionales, 2 communes, 4 divisions de 2 zones de police, 5 intercommunales et 2 entreprises.

2 juin : ouverture festive de l'exposition

PAK montre le résultat de plusieurs mois de recherche en deux formules. Tout au long de la journée du 2 juin prochain, le collectif réalise une série de courtes performances chorégraphiées : des interventions flagrantes ou subtiles sur le cours quotidien des choses. Elles auront lieu à 12:30, 18:30 et 19:30. Vous pouvez également les suivre en direct sur un écran au foyer du Kaaitheater, où vous êtes invité à prendre un verre à 12:30 et à 18:30.

Dans une exposition (au même foyer), PAK montre des dessins et des photomontages d’autres interventions (irréalisées ou irréalisables). À partir de la deuxième semaine, un documentaire vidéo des interventions du 2 juin sera intégré à l’exposition.

Plus d'info >>


Avec le soutien de Pro Helvetia, Schweizer Kulturstiftung