The Wonders of Multilingualism #3 meeting, conversation and artistic interventions

Kaaitheater & Passa Porta presented by Passa Porta & Kaaitheater

Kaaitheater & Passa Porta
Kaaitheater & Passa Porta

11.10.2022

For some time now, Passa Porta and Kaaitheater have been coming together around the theme of multilingualism in all its wonderful and complex facets. Together with writer Sulaiman Addonia and theatre-maker Ahilan Ratnamohan, we delved into the depths of their life stories marked as they are by the acquisition and unlearning of language.

 

During a subsequent discussion with a diverse audience (including teachers, parents, artists, writers, and academics), the most pressing questions surrounding multilingualism were listed. This became the agenda for this long-running series 'The Wonders of Multilingualism'. Some of the topics: the role of language in the intergenerational dynamics, the joy of multilingualism, language and power relations (dominant languages), the politics of non-translation, the poetry of non-understanding ...

Last May, the theme of the evening was 'mother tongue'; this autumn, there will be another such evening. The theme has not yet been decided, but the structure is already known: the focus is on mutual conversation, supplemented by short artistic interventions around the theme. 

That way, Passa Porta and Kaaitheater hope to build a diverse community that meets around a shared interest. Especially for you, we have created an interactive blog where the exchange can continue, even in between the evenings. If you register, you will receive an invitation to take part. You do not have to attend the whole series, everyone is welcome to participate as much or as little as suits them.

The Wonders of Multilingualism #3 meeting, conversation and artistic interventions

Kaaitheater & Passa Porta presented by Passa Porta & Kaaitheater

Kaaitheater & Passa Porta
Kaaitheater & Passa Porta

11.10.2022

Passa Porta et Kaaitheater se réunissent depuis quelque temps déjà autour du thème du multilinguisme, sous toutes ses merveilleuses et complexes facettes. Avec l'écrivain Sulaiman Addonia et l'homme de théâtre Ahilan Ratnamohan, nous avons plongé dans les profondeurs de leurs histoires de vie, qui sont marquées par l'acquisition et le désapprentissage de la langue.

Les questions les plus pressantes concernant le multilinguisme, ont été énumérées lors d'une discussion ultérieure avec un public diversifié (comprenant des enseignant·es, des parents, des artistes, des écrivain·es et des universitaires). C'est ainsi qu'est née cette série de longue haleine intitulée Les merveilles du multilinguisme. Parmi les thèmes abordés : le rôle de la langue dans la dynamique intergénérationnelle, la joie du multilinguisme, la langue et les relations de pouvoir (langues dominantes), la politique de la non-traduction, la poésie de l'incompréhension, etc.

En mai dernier, la soirée était consacrée à la notion de "langue maternelle »;  une autre soirée aura lieu cet automne. Le thème n'a pas encore été déterminé, mais la structure est déjà connue : l'accent est mis sur la conversation mutuelle, complétée par de courtes interventions artistiques autour du thème.

De cette manière, Passa Porta et Kaaitheater construisent une communauté diversifiée qui se réunit autour d'un intérêt commun. Nous avons créé spécialement pour vous un blog interactif où l'échange peut se poursuivre, même entre les soirées. Vous recevrez une invitation restante si vous vous inscrivez. Il n'est pas nécessaire de participer à l'ensemble de la série, tout le monde est le·la bienvenu·e.