Dominique Pauwels, Pieter de Buysser & Inne Goris / LOD [Ghent]

Judaspassie

Judaspassie
Judaspassie

03.04.2009

Apology of human weakness

An alternative account of Jesus' suffering and death. Composed by Dominique Pauwels, with text by Pieter De Buysser. Directed by Inne Goris.

Someone approaches and says: "imagine I am Judas." There is something vitally important he needs to tell us. We do not know who he really is. He draws us so deeply into his story we no longer care whether he really is Judas. The story he tells us is one that we all know, told from a different perspective. He has his reasons for choosing Judas' point of view. His plea is one for forgiveness, for understanding. For him, but also for his ideas about the world and humanity. For the archetype of the traitor.

With their Judas Passion Dominique Pauwels and Pieter De Buysser re-establish contact with the ethical and societal questions of our time. Not only do they reflect on humankind, also political and philosophical topics are brought forward. Apart from a number of singers, an orchestra (B'Rock) and a choir (Collegium Vocale, represented by an installation of speakers), renowned philosophers will be holding short speeches.


concept, composition, adaptation  Dominique Pauwels |  text  Pieter De Buysser direction  Inne Goris |  music direction Frank Agsteribbe |  performed by  Bonita Hyman, Romain Bischoff, Kadi Abdelmalek, B'Rock, Collegium Vocale Gent (pre-recorded), Haruka Sugihara, Korneel Van Neste & Wouter Valvekens (childrens choir Vlaamse Opera, coached by Hendrik Derolez) | keyboard and electronics Benjamin Van Esser | repetiteur Geert Callaert |  costumes Lieve Meeussen | design Michiel Van Cauwelaert | light design Francis Gahide | translation Peter Connelly (English), Tomer Eilon (Hebrew), Allal Bou-Rqia (Arabic) | technique Leo Verlinden, Pino Etz, Diederik Suykens, Stijn Edge, Marc Combas | production  LOD (Ghent) |  coproduction  B'Rock (Ghent), Collegium Vocale (Ghent),  Concertgebouw (Bruges) | support Vlaamse Opera

Dominique Pauwels, Pieter de Buysser & Inne Goris / LOD [Ghent]

Judaspassie

Judaspassie
Judaspassie

03.04.2009

Apologie de la faiblesse humaine

Un récit alternatif du 'calvaire de Jésus'. Composé par Dominique Pauwels, sur un texte de Pieter De Buysser. Dans une régie d'Inne Goris

Judas est quelqu’un qui provoque une réaction instinctive chez presque tout le monde: il est l'incarnation suprême du mal. Dominique Pauwels, Pieter Buysser et Inne Goris relatent une version alternative de l'évangile dans lequel la mort du Christ équivaut à sa libération, et où Judas est considéré comme un  ami intime et serviable. Judas livre Jésus à sa destination finale: la non-existence, à un moment où sa présence physique n’est plus nécessaire à l'humanité et qu’elle peut enfin l’aimer, le fêter et l’attendre.

Les personnages: Judas (un baryton basse), Jésus (une mezzo-soprano), l'évangéliste (un chantre arabe), le dernier pape, le premier croyant après le décès de ce pape, « le chanteur silencieux des temps présents» (ces trois derniers sont incarné par les membres du Kinderkoor van de Vlaamse Opera)… et lac symbolique séculaire, incarné par un chœur virtuel (Collegium Vocale), présent sur scène et dans la salle par des haut-parleurs . Chaque personnage est accompagné par des instruments à cordes qui graduellement se rejoignent et constitueront un orchestre.

Avec cette Passion, les réalisateurs établissent un lien avec des questions éthiques et sociales. Non seulement la réflexion au sujet de l'homme, mais aussi les questions politico-philosophiques qui effleurent notre société sont prises en considération.


concept, composition, adaptation  Dominique Pauwels |  text  Pieter De Buysser direction  Inne Goris |  music direction Frank Agsteribbe |  performed by  Bonita Hyman, Romain Bischoff, Kadi Abdelmalek, B'Rock, Collegium Vocale Gent (pre-recorded), Haruka Sugihara, Korneel Van Neste & Wouter Valvekens (childrens choir Vlaamse Opera, coached by Hendrik Derolez) | keyboard and electronics Benjamin Van Esser | repetiteur Geert Callaert |  costumes Lieve Meeussen | design Michiel Van Cauwelaert | light design Francis Gahide | translation Peter Connelly (English), Tomer Eilon (Hebrew), Allal Bou-Rqia (Arabic) | technique Leo Verlinden, Pino Etz, Diederik Suykens, Stijn Edge, Marc Combas | production  LOD (Ghent) |  coproduction  B'Rock (Ghent), Collegium Vocale (Ghent),  Concertgebouw (Bruges) | support Vlaamse Opera