Bruno Latour & Frédérique Aït Touati [FR]

INSIDE

INSIDE
INSIDE

24.11.2018

In this lecture performance, philosopher Bruno Latour and director Frédérique Aït-Touati reflect on the relationship between human beings and their environment. Plato’s cave may not be an interesting base of operations for scientists, but it does symbolize the life that we lead within the fragile stratosphere of our earth. Indeed, over the last few years, geochemists have exposed a very different planet. They describe a ‘critical zone’: the wafer-thin outer layer of the globe on which all life, human activity and resources are concentrated. Can we change our perception of the earth? No longer from a great distance, like a blue marble flying through space, but from the inside out, as a cross-section of that critical zone? What does it mean not to live ‘on’ the earth but ‘in’ the earth? Searching for an answer, Bruno Latour and Frédérique Aït-Touati have developed a series of models and visual simulations.

• Over the past decade, philosopher Bruno Latour and director/researcher Frédérique Aït Touati have collaborated on projects at the intersection of science and theatre. A shared interest in the Anthropocene and the heuristic and modelling capacities of the theatre are always central themes.

Bruno Latour, the Post-Truth Philosopher, Mounts a Defense of Science - The New York Times Magazine


mise-en-scène Frédérique Aït-Touati | with Bruno Latour | lighting design Rémi Godfroy  | images Alexandra Arènes, Axelle Grégoire | videos Sonia Lévy | video & light creation Patrick Laffont-DeLojo | sound Eric Broitmann, supported by l’IRCAM | tour assistant Nina Ayachi

Bruno Latour & Frédérique Aït Touati [FR]

INSIDE

24.11.2018

Lors de cette lecture performance, le philosophe Bruno Latour et la metteuse en scène Frédérique Aït-Touati réfléchissent à la relation entre l’homme et son environnement. Si la caverne platonicienne ne constitue pas un point de départ intéressant pour les scientifiques, elle symbolise néanmoins la vie que nous menons dans la stratosphère fragile de notre planète. Ces dernières années, les géochimistes ont révélé une tout autre planète qu’ils décrivent une « zone critique » : la fine pellicule du globe terrestre qui concentre toute vie, toutes les activités humaines et toutes ses ressources. Peut‑on modifier notre manière de voir la Terre ? Non plus de loin, comme une bille bleue perdue dans le cosmos, mais de l’intérieur, comme une coupe de cette zone critique. Que signifie ne pas vivre « sur » le globe, mais « dans » cette zone critique ? En quête d’une réponse, Bruno Latour et Frédérique Aït-Touati élaborent une série de modèles et de simulations visuelles.

• Ces dix dernières années, le philosophe Bruno Latour et la metteuse en scène et chercheuse Frédérique Aït-Touati ont collaboré à des projets, à la croisée de la science et du théâtre, qui s’articulent autour d’un intérêt partagé pour l’anthropocène et les capacités heuristiques et modélisatrices du théâtre.

Bruno Latour, the Post-Truth Philosopher, Mounts a Defense of Science - The New York Times Magazine

Bruno Latour nous fait sentir la fragilité de notre vie sur terre - La Libre


mise-en-scène Frédérique Aït-Touati | with Bruno Latour | lighting design Rémi Godfroy  | images Alexandra Arènes, Axelle Grégoire | videos Sonia Lévy | video & light creation Patrick Laffont-DeLojo | sound Eric Broitmann, supported by l’IRCAM | tour assistant Nina Ayachi

programmaboekje - feuille de salle - evening programme

Sujets apparentés

VIDEO: Bruno Latour

VIDEO: Bruno Latour
VIDEO: Bruno Latour

article

je 29.11.18

Le 24/11 Bruno Latour et Frédérique Aït-Touait présentaient le lecture performance INSIDE. Après il y avait un entretien avec Bruno Latour, par Guy Gypens à l'occasion de la publication néerlandophone d'Où attirer?