Ingrid Berger Myhre

In Other Words

In Other Words
In Other Words

06.07 – 07.07.2021

Is dance a language? And if so, how does it speak? In In Other Words, Ingrid Berger Myhre explores the compatibility between dance and language. She uses rhetorical devices to create a composition of movement. With the stage as an empty page, the choreographic writing unfolds as a physical discourse with its own syntax, grammar and vocabulary. But what conditions these dance utterances? And what does it mean to read dance? In other words, if we are not seeking meaning, how do we interpret this production? With ingenuity and charm, Ingrid Berger Myhre presents a relativizing take on dance. What are the possibilities and shortcomings of language?

• Ingrid Berger Myhre is a dancer and choreographer, and lives and works in Brussels. She studied at PARTS in Brussels and at the Choreographic Centre in Montpellier. Language and semiotics are central themes in her work. We are welcoming her to Kaaitheater for the first time.


choreography Ingrid Berger Myhre in collaboration with Pablo Esbert Lilienfeld, Chloe Chignell & Thomas Bîrzan | performed by Pablo Esbert Lilienfeld, Chloe Chignell, Thomas Bîrzan & Ingrid Berger Myhre | in conversation with Bojana Cvejić | sound design Lasse Passage | light design Dominique Pollet | scenography Edwin Kolpa | costumes Min Li | co-production Buda, Black Box Teate, MDT Stockholm, Regional Arena for Samtidsdans, Dansateliers Rotterdam | support P.A.R.T.S. Research Studios 17-18 | funded by Arts Council Norway, Fond for Lyd og Bilde

Ingrid Berger Myhre

In Other Words

In Other Words
In Other Words

06.07 – 07.07.2021

La danse est-elle un langage ? Si oui, comment le parle-t-on ? Dans In Other Words, Ingrid Berger Myhre explore ce que la danse et la langue ont en commun. Elle engage des techniques rhétoriques pour parvenir à une composition de mouvements. Avec la scène pour page vierge, la chorégraphie se déploie comme un discours physique avec sa syntaxe, sa grammaire et son vocabulaire. Mais qu’est-ce qui détermine ces expressions dansées ? Et que signifie lire la danse ? En d’autres mots : si on ne cherche pas de sens, comment regarde-t-on ce spectacle ? Avec intelligence et charme, Ingrid Berger Myhre porte sur la danse un regard relativiste. Quelles sont les possibilités et les lacunes d’un langage ?

• Ingrid Berger Myhre est danseuse et chorégraphe. Elle vit et travaille à Bruxelles. Elle a étudié à PARTS à Bruxelles et au Centre Chorégraphique à Montpellier. La langue et la sémiotique occupent une place centrale dans son œuvre. Nous l’accueillons pour la première fois au Kaaitheater.


choreography Ingrid Berger Myhre in collaboration with Pablo Esbert Lilienfeld, Chloe Chignell & Thomas Bîrzan | performed by Pablo Esbert Lilienfeld, Chloe Chignell, Thomas Bîrzan & Ingrid Berger Myhre | in conversation with Bojana Cvejić | sound design Lasse Passage | light design Dominique Pollet | scenography Edwin Kolpa | costumes Min Li | co-production Buda, Black Box Teate, MDT Stockholm, Regional Arena for Samtidsdans, Dansateliers Rotterdam | support P.A.R.T.S. Research Studios 17-18 | funded by Arts Council Norway, Fond for Lyd og Bilde

There's more

Feuille de salle 'In Other Words'

Feuille de salle 'In Other Words'
Feuille de salle 'In Other Words'

Feuille de salle

je 01.07.21

Découvrez plus sur In Other Words.