deufert&plischke [DE]

I dance… I undance… I redance… (5-99y) WORKSHOP | Letters to Dance/Just in Time

I dance… I undance… I redance… (5-99y)
I dance… I undance… I redance… (5-99y)

17.04 – 24.04.2019

‘Dance is the hidden language of the soul,’ Martha Graham once said. But what does dance mean to you? Explore personal memories with the artists’ couple deufert&plischke. By the end of the workshop, you will have written your own Letter to Dance. Everyone is welcome, from 5 to 99 years old!

Free, including an invitation to the Bal Populaire!

 

• Over the last three years, Kattrin Deufert and Thomas Plischke have collected thousands of ‘Letters to Dance’. In Berlin, Tel Aviv, New York, Düsseldorf, and Los Angeles, they visited schools, retirement homes, libraries, cafés, universities, community centres, youth movements, and public squares – looking for dialogue partners to talk about… dance. Conversations with young and old, a panoply of colours, fit and not so fit, about the most varied styles of dance. From urban, ballroom, and ballet to folk and contemporary dance. At the end they always asked the same two questions: “Would you write a hand-written note to ‘dance’ and would you describe or sketch your favourite dance move?”. A selection of these letters has since been published in book form and they are currently working on a complete online archive.

Related content

deufert&plischke

Bal Populaire (5-99y)

dance

Bal Populaire (5-99y)
Bal Populaire (5-99y)

dance

Sat 27.04.19

deufert&plischke are coming to Brussels for three weeks to collect ‘letters to dance’. To end the project with a bang, they are inviting you to a veritable Bal Populaire. The collection of favourite dance moves is the basis for a great party with live music. While everybody dances, you will hear and see a selection of the best ‘Letters to Dance’.

‘We Don’t Rehearse, We Just Collect Letters. And Afterwards The Ball Starts.’

A conversation with deufert&plischke

‘We Don’t Rehearse, We Just Collect Letters. And Afterwards The Ball Starts.’
‘We Don’t Rehearse, We Just Collect Letters. And Afterwards The Ball Starts.’

article

Thu 21.02.19

What would you tell dance if you had the chance to meet it? What is your favourite dance move? The artistic duo deufert&plischke make this encounter possible in their project Letters to Dance/Just in Time. A conversation with deufert&plischke.

deufert&plischke [DE]

I dance… I undance… I redance… (5-99 ans) ATELIER | Letters to Dance/Just in Time

I dance… I undance… I redance… (5-99 ans)
I dance… I undance… I redance… (5-99 ans)

17.04 – 24.04.2019

« La danse est le langage caché de l’âme », a un jour dit Martha Graham. Mais que signifie la danse pour vous ? Avec le duo d’artiste deufert&plischke, vous sondez vos souvenirs personnels. À la fin de l’atelier, vous aurez écrit votre propre lettre à la danse. Tout le monde est le bienvenu !

Gratuit, y compris une invitation au Bal Populaire !

 

• Au cours des trois dernières années, Kattrin Deufert et Thomas Plischke ont rassemblé des milliers de « Lettres à la danse ». À Berlin, Tel-Aviv, New York, Düsseldorf et Los Angeles, ils ont visité des écoles, des maisons de retraite, des bibliothèques, des cafés, des universités, des foyers socio-éducatifs, des mouvements de jeunesse et des places publiques en quête d’interlocuteurs pour parler de… Danse ! Des entretiens en mode arc-en-ciel, avec des jeunes et des moins jeunes, en grande forme et moins en forme, à propos des styles de danse les plus divergents. De la danse urbaine à la danse de salon et au ballet, de la danse folklorique à la danse contemporaine. Les entretiens s’achevaient toujours par deux questions : « Accepteriez-vous d’écrire à la main une lettre adressée à la danse ? » et « Pourriez-vous décrire ou dessiner votre mouvement de danse favori ? » Une sélection de ces lettres a entre-temps été publiée dans un recueil et une archive numérique complète est en production en ce moment.

Sujets apparentés

deufert&plischke

Bal Populaire (5-99ans)

danse

Bal Populaire (5-99ans)
Bal Populaire (5-99ans)

danse

sa 27.04.19

deufert&plischke viennent à Bruxelles trois semaines durant pour y recueillir des « lettres à la danse ». Pour clôturer le projet, ils nous invitent à danser à un véritable bal populaire. La collection de mouvements de danse favoris constitue le vocabulaire gestuel d’une fête joyeuse. Il y aura de la musique jouée en public, tout le monde dansera et lors d’intervalles, on pourra entendre les meilleures lettres écrites à la danse.

« Nous ne repetons pas, nous recueillons tout simplement des lettres. Et ensuite le bal peut commencer. »

Une conversation avec deufert&plischke

« Nous ne repetons pas, nous recueillons tout simplement des lettres. Et ensuite le bal peut commencer. »
« Nous ne repetons pas, nous recueillons tout simplement des lettres. Et ensuite le bal peut commencer. »

article

je 21.02.19

Que diriez-vous à la danse si vous aviez l’occasion de la rencontrer ? Quel est votre mouvement de danse favori ? Le duo artistique deufert&plischke rend cette rencontre possible durant leur projet Letters to Dance/Just in Time. Une conversation avec deufert&plischke.