Faustin Linyekula/NTGent [CD/BE]

Histoire(s) du théâtre II

Histoire(s) du théâtre II
Histoire(s) du théâtre II

13.03 – 14.03.2020

Warning: this show is cancelled to help contain the spread of the new coronavirus.

1974, Zaïre. In the Fight of the Century, Muhammad Ali defeated George Foreman. Mobutu Sese Seko founded the National Ballet of Zaire. After gaining their independence, African countries attempted to establish their identities. Ironically enough, they used Western codes to define themselves. What could have been a formidable laboratory for the richness of African dance and music quickly descended into propaganda, and lead to a bitter political struggle across the continent.

Faustin Linyekula has created a production in which he reflects on key moments in the history of theatre. Along with three members of the Congolese National Ballet and actors Papy Maurice Mbwiti and Oscar van Rompay, he explores what the young Congolese state could have become.

• As a dancer, choreographer and theatre director, Faustin Linyekula tackles post-colonial themes, inspired by the cruel legacy of war, terrorism and collapsing economies in his fatherland Congo. Since the 90s, his productions have toured across the globe. Histoire(s) du Théâtre II should have premiered last season but was postponed due to visa problems. The production is part of a series that began with Milo Rau’s celebrated La Reprise.


direction Faustin Linyekula | cast Oscar Van Rompay, Wawina Lifeteke, Marie-Jeanne Ndjoku Masula, Ikondongo Mukoko, Papy Maurice Mbwiti | production NTGent | thanks to Mariposa | in collaboration with Ballet National de la Compagnie Théâtre National Congolais, Isaano / Positive Production, Kigali | world premiere Festival d’Avignon | supported by the Belgian Tax Shelter

There's more

Milo Rau/NTGent

Orestes in Mosul

theatre

Orestes in Mosul
Orestes in Mosul

theatre

Fri 11.10 - Sat 12.10.19

An apparently endless chain of murders and blood feuds: this is the plot of the Oresteia. In Orestes in Mosul, Milo Rau combines the tragedy of tragedies with contemporary political conflicts. How will the chain of violence between the parties in the Syrian-Iraqi civil war and their international allies ever come to an end? With an ensemble of Iraqi and European actors, Rau presents an Oresteia for our time.

FC Bergman

JR

theatre

JR
JR

theatre

Wed 18.03 - Sun 22.03.20
Warning: this show is cancelled to help contain the spread of the new coronavirus.

William Gaddis is one of the most influential authors in American postmodern literature. His 1975 magnum opus JR is a complex and hilarious satire on capitalism. FC Bergman has opted for an ambitious adaptation that unmasks contemporary humanity. The company is building a sky-high set in the halls of Paleis12 at the Heizel, around which an extensive ensemble of actors will reconstruct the kaleidoscopic world of JR.

Faustin Linyekula/NTGent [CD/BE]

Histoire(s) du théâtre II

Histoire(s) du théâtre II
Histoire(s) du théâtre II

13.03 – 14.03.2020

Zaïre, 1974. Muhammad Ali remporte le match du siècle contre George Foreman. Mobutu Sese Seko fonde le Ballet national du Zaïre. Après les indépendances, les pays africains tentent de définir leur identité. De manière assez ironique, ils se servent de codes occidentaux pour se placer sur la carte. Ce qui aurait pu être un formidable laboratoire pour la richesse de la danse et de la musique africaine évolue rapidement en propagande et source d’âpres conflits politiques sur le continent.

Faustin Linyekula crée un spectacle dans lequel il réfléchit aux moments clés de l’histoire du théâtre. Avec trois membres du Ballet National Congolais et les acteurs Papy Maurice Mbwiti et Oscar van Rompay, il se penche sur ce que le jeune État congolais aurait pu être.

• En sa qualité de danseur, de chorégraphe et de metteur en scène de théâtre, Faustin Linyekula aborde des thèmes postcoloniaux inspirés du cruel héritage de la guerre, de la terreur et d’une économie en déliquescence dans son pays natal, le Congo. Depuis les années 90, ses spectacles ont une résonance internationale. La première d’Histoire(s) du Théâtre II était prévue la saison passée, mais a dû être différée en raison de problèmes d’octroi de visas. Le spectacle s’inscrit dans une série dont Milo Rau a donné le coup d’envoi avec La Reprise.


direction Faustin Linyekula | cast Oscar Van Rompay, Wawina Lifeteke, Marie-Jeanne Ndjoku Masula, Ikondongo Mukoko, Papy Maurice Mbwiti | production NTGent | thanks to Mariposa | in collaboration with Ballet National de la Compagnie Théâtre National Congolais, Isaano / Positive Production, Kigali | world premiere Festival d’Avignon | supported by the Belgian Tax Shelter

Sujets apparentés

Milo Rau/NTGent

Orestes in Mosul

théâtre

Orestes in Mosul
Orestes in Mosul

théâtre

ve 11.10 - sa 12.10.19

Une succession apparemment sans fin de meurtres et de vengeance : voilà en bref l’intrigue d’Orestie. Dans Orestes in Mosul, Milo Rau combine la tragédie des tragédies et des conflits politiques actuels. Comment mettre fin à la spirale de violence entre les différentes parties belligérantes de la guerre civile syro-irakienne et leurs alliés internationaux ? Avec un ensemble d’acteurs irakiens et européens, Rau monte une version contemporaine d’Orestie.

FC Bergman

JR

théâtre

JR
JR

théâtre

me 18.03 - di 22.03.20

William Gaddis est considéré comme l’un des écrivains états-uniens les plus influents de la littérature post-moderne. Son chef-d’œuvre expérimental, JR, est une satire aussi complexe que désopilante du capitalisme. FC Bergman a opté pour une adaptation ambitieuse qui démasque l’homme contemporain. La compagnie construit un décor colossal autour duquel un vaste ensemble de comédiens et de figurants reconstituent l’univers kaléidoscopique de JR.