Tibaldus/Toneelhuis

Gekken & Specialisten

Gekken & Specialisten
Gekken & Specialisten

15.12 – 16.12.2020

Timeau De Keyser and Tibaldus have dived into Madmen & Specialists, a text by the Nigerian Nobel Prize winner Wole Soyinka written in 1970. It focuses on a conflict between a father and son. Both have returned after a long time at war. The son – the Specialist and a former surgeon – has become head of the military intelligence service. He now works with complete conviction for a fascist system. The father – also a doctor – is now a Madman who has lost all faith in every system but has become the prophet of his own nihilistic religion. Mutilated characters circle around them, constantly conscripted into different systems.

The company is again presenting a musical approach to text and dynamic staging with a large group of talented actors. Madmen & Specialists unmasks our society as an eternal power struggle between belief systems that each claim the truth for themselves. Throw in a number of texts by Friedrich Nietzsche and the result is the most confronting performance Tibaldus has ever produced.

• Timeau De Keyser, Hans Mortelmans and Simon De Winne met while studying drama at the KASK in Ghent, and founded Tibaldus together in 2009. They have performed at the Kaaitheater twice, each time with a text by the Polish author Witold Gombrowicz: The Marriage and Yvonne, Princess of Burgundy.

 

  ‘In the words of Nietzsche: Life is no longer a stone tablet of laws. It is a dance to the music of what if?’ – TIMEAU DE KEYSER

 


tekst Wole Soyinka | vertaling Marijke Emeis | concept Simon De Winne, Hans Mortelmans, Timeau De Keyser | regie Timeau De Keyser
met Marjan De Schutter, Lieselotte De Keyzer, Simon De Winne, Hans Mortelmans, Katrien Valckenaers, Anna Franziska Jäger, Ferre Marnef, Hendrik Van Doorn, Sander De Winne |
 zangleiding Sander De Winne |
 productie Toneelhuis | P.U.L.S.
| coproductie Tibaldus
| met de steun van deAuteurs, de Tax Shelter van de Belgische federale overheid, Casa Kafka Pictures

There's more

Tibaldus

Tibaldus
Tibaldus

The Question

Tue 23.06.20

Welk (toneel)spel spelen we? Wie stelt de spelregels op? Wie speel jij, wie speel ik?

Tibaldus/Toneelhuis

Gekken & Specialisten

Gekken & Specialisten
Gekken & Specialisten

15.12 – 16.12.2020

Timeau De Keyser et Tibaldus se plongent dans Fous et Spécialistes, un texte de 1970 du Nigérian Wole Soyinka, lauréat du prix Nobel de Littérature. Au cœur du récit, le conflit entre un père et un fils. Tous deux reviennent, après une longue période, d’une guerre. Le fils – le Spécialiste, autrefois chirurgien – est entre-temps à la tête des services de renseignement militaires. Il travaille désormais avec conviction au nom d’un système fasciste. Le père – également médecin dans une vie précédente – est aujourd’hui un Fou qui a perdu la foi en tout système, mais se révèle prophète de sa propre religion nihiliste. Autour d’eux gravitent des personnages mutilés qui sont sans cesse embrigadés par d’autres systèmes.

Accompagnée d’un grand groupe d’acteurs talentueux, la compagnie porte à nouveau à la scène une approche musicale du texte et une mise en scène dynamique. Gekken & Specialisten met au jour notre société comme le terrain d’une lutte de pouvoir éternelle entre des systèmes de croyances qui revendiquent chacun détenir la vérité. Ajoutez-y quelques textes de Friedrich Nietzsche et vous obtenez le spectacle de Tibaldus le plus déconcertant jusqu’à présent.

• Timeau De Keyser, Hans Mortelmans et Simon De Winne se sont rencontrés durant leur formation en art dramatique au KASK à Gand et ont ensuite fondé Tibaldus en 2009. On a déjà pu les voir à deux reprises au Kaaitheater, chaque fois avec un texte de l’écrivain polonais Witold Gombrowicz : Het huwelijk et Yvonne, prinses van Bourgondië.

 

Pour le dire avec les mots de Sue Prideaux à propos de Nietzsche : « La vie n’est plus une table de lois gravées dans la pierre. C’est une danse sur la musique de la question “et si ?”. » – TIMEAU DE KEYSER

 


tekst Wole Soyinka | vertaling Marijke Emeis | concept Simon De Winne, Hans Mortelmans, Timeau De Keyser | regie Timeau De Keyser
met Marjan De Schutter, Lieselotte De Keyzer, Simon De Winne, Hans Mortelmans, Katrien Valckenaers, Anna Franziska Jäger, Ferre Marnef, Hendrik Van Doorn, Sander De Winne |
 zangleiding Sander De Winne |
 productie Toneelhuis | P.U.L.S.
| coproductie Tibaldus
| met de steun van deAuteurs, de Tax Shelter van de Belgische federale overheid, Casa Kafka Pictures

There's more

Tibaldus

Tibaldus
Tibaldus

The Question

ma 23.06.20

Welk (toneel)spel spelen we? Wie stelt de spelregels op? Wie speel jij, wie speel ik?