Chaghig Arzoumanian [LB]

Géographies

03.02 – 04.02.2017

The young Lebanese filmmaker and video artist Chaghig Arzoumanian lives and works in Lebanon and France. Her grandparents fled as children from their home village Burunkisla during the Armenian genocide of 1915. On the eve of the 100th anniversary of these violent events, Arzoumanian travels in the footsteps of her grandparents to the country where they never grew up, looking for the landscapes and the history of a displaced people.

In Géographies she tells the story this exile with its accumulation of first names, stories, journeys and photographs handed down to her in snippets, through hearsay and anecdotes. Her Armenian heritage takes on mythical proportions and becomes re-inscribed in the imposing contemporary landscapes. “The ruins became one with the land,” referring to the Anatolian plains. From Turkey, the exile wends its way to Beirut. Family members remain in Cairo, journey on to Damascus, Jaffa… The map of this exile turns into a colored tapestry of many hues and patterns – an epic woven together out of individual experiences.

In Armenian, with English subtitles


director, producer, cinematography, editing Chaghig Arzoumanian | editing consultant Carine Doumit | sound recordist Karine Basha | sound designer Sandra Tabet | sound mixing Rana Eid | colorist Belal Hibri

Chaghig Arzoumanian [LB]

Géographies

Géographies
Géographies

03.02 – 04.02.2017

La jeune vidéaste libanaise Chaghig Arzoumanian vit et travaille au Liban et en France. Ses grands-parents avaient quitté enfants leur village natal de Burunkisla pendant le génocide arménien de 1915. A la veille du 100e anniversaire de ces dramatiques évènements, Chaghig Arzoumanian voyage sur les traces de ses ancêtres jusqu’au pays où elle n’a jamais grandi, en quête des paysages et de l’histoire d’un peuple réduit à l’exil.

Dans Géographies elle fait le récit du passé de sa famille, la sédimentation de prénoms, de récits, de trajets et de photographies qui lui en a été transmis par bribes, on-dit, anecdotes. Sa généalogie arménienne, qui prend des proportions mythiques, est réinscrite dans les paysages d’aujourd’hui. « Les ruines ont fusionné avec la terre », entend-on de la plaine d’Anatolie. De là, l’exil a mené à Beyrouth. Une branche de la famille a bifurqué au Caire, à Damas, Jaffa... La carte devient tapisserie aux couleurs et aux motifs multiples, changeants – une épopée tissée de fils individuels.

En arménien, avec sous-titres en anglais


director, producer, cinematography, editing Chaghig Arzoumanian | editing consultant Carine Doumit | sound recordist Karine Basha | sound designer Sandra Tabet | sound mixing Rana Eid | colorist Belal Hibri