Willem Breuker Kollektief [Amsterdam]

Faust

Faust
Faust

15.06.2007

Its solid blend of jazz and new music, with popular genres such as brass band and Latin thrown in for good measure, has kept the Willem Breuker Collectief at the top for more than 30 years. In 2003, the Cité de la Musique commissioned Breuker to compose new music for F.W. Murnau’s 1926 film Faust, one of the great landmarks of expressionist silent film, inspired by Goethe’s classic. Breuker’s score follows the images and the unfolding story very closely. His wide-ranging musical idiom adds an extra dimension to Murnau’s masterpiece.

The film tells the story of an old alchemist, Faust, who sells his soul to the devil Mephistopheles in return for eternal youth. He falls in love with the young Gretchen, but Mephistopheles forces the young lovers apart.

This marvellous film-concert by Breuker and his group crowns the closing event of the 2006-7 season. Don’t miss it.


music Willem Breuker
conducted by Rutger van Leyden
performed by Frans Vermeerssen (soprano and alto sax), Hermine Deurloo (alto sax, harmonica), Maarten van Norden (tenor sax), Andreas Altenfelder (trumpet), George Pancraz (trumpet), Andy Bruce (trombone), Bernard Hunnekink (trombone, tuba), Henk de Jonge (piano, synthesizer), Arjen Gorter (double bass), Rob Verdurmen (drums, percussion)

Willem Breuker Kollektief [Amsterdam]

Faust

Faust
Faust

15.06.2007

Voilà plus de trente ans que le collectif Willem Breuker rencontre le succès avec son brassage énergique de jazz, de musique nouvelle et de sonorités empruntées à des genres populaires comme la fanfare, la musique latino, etc. En 2003, la Cité de la Musique à Paris lui a commandé une nouvelle composition pour accompagner le Faust (1926) de F.W. Murnau, l’un des sommets du cinéma muet expressionniste, inspiré du classique de Goethe. La partition de Breuker suit à la lettre les images et les développements du récit. Son large idiome musical ajoute une dimension au chef-d’œuvre de Murnau.

Faust raconte l’histoire du vieil alchimiste du même nom qui vend son âme à Méphisto, l’incarnation du diable, en échange de l’éternelle jeunesse. Faust tombe amoureux de la jeune Gretchen, mais Méphisto sépare les jeunes amants.

Avec ce formidable concert cinématographique, Willem Breuker et ses musiciens clôturent la saison 06-07 en beauté. À ne pas rater.


music Willem Breuker
conducted by Rutger van Leyden
performed by Frans Vermeerssen (soprano and alto sax), Hermine Deurloo (alto sax, harmonica), Maarten van Norden (tenor sax), Andreas Altenfelder (trumpet), George Pancraz (trumpet), Andy Bruce (trombone), Bernard Hunnekink (trombone, tuba), Henk de Jonge (piano, synthesizer), Arjen Gorter (double bass), Rob Verdurmen (drums, percussion)