Marc Vanrunxt & Kunst/Werk [Antwerp]

Extraction

Extraction
Extraction

12.03 – 14.03.2009

In 1998 Marc Vanrunxt created the solo Private Collection for Eva Kamala Rodenburg, who since then has regularly danced in his group choreographic works (including Raum and showtitle #63 BLACK MARK). Now, ten years later, they are once again concentrating on the self-reflective questions and paradoxes behind Private Collection. A great many paintings and sculptures have found their way into the collective memory, even though they may be in private hands. The catalogue illustration, the poster, the postcard and the internet image are common property, but not the materiality of the object. What is the relationship between private, public, original and depiction in a dance performance? How democratic is access to the theatre? How does a dance performance such as Private Collection make its mark on the public imagination? What is the material nature of this transient medium and in whose possession is it?

In Extraction, Marc Vanrunxt is not carrying out a reconstruction of the 1998 solo, but intends to overpaint it, to distil its essence, to represent Eva Kamala Rodenburg even more beautifully and with greater sophistication. Her body becomes the surface on which our desire is projected – we do not desire her as a person, but the attention and care that have moulded her into this figure. This choreographic work is a cast, an exclusive pattern that results from something custom-made, a luxury commodity that is extracted from the dancer with extreme care and precision.

Marc Vanrunxt regularly admits insertions into his work, by artists or musicians. For Extraction he collaborates with the photographer David Bergé and with the artistic assistant Myriam Van Imschoot. They share a fascination for monochrome, the single-colour surface which we, despite its abstraction, experience as so much more real, precisely because it is not an illustration of anything external to itself and cannot become anything other than the materiality that it is.


choreography Marc Vanrunxt | with Eva Kamala Rodenburg | artistic collaborators David Bergé, Myriam Van Imschoot | lights, technique Stef Alleweireldt | advice Marie-Anne Schotte | production Kunst/Werk | co-production Kaaitheater | support Vlaamse Gemeenschap | in association with Vooruit (Ghent) | support Vlaamse Gemeenschap

Marc Vanrunxt & Kunst/Werk [Antwerp]

Extraction

Extraction
Extraction

12.03 – 14.03.2009

En 1998, Marc Vanrunxt crée le solo Private Collection pour Eva Kamala Rodenburg qui, depuis lors, a souvent dansé dans les chorégraphies de groupe de Vanrunxt (e.a. Raum et showtitle #63 BLACK MARK). Dix ans plus tard, ils se penchent à nouveau sur les questions introspectives et les paradoxes que renferme Private Collection. Bon nombre de toiles et de sculptures se sont frayé un chemin vers la mémoire collective, même si elles appartiennent à des collections privées. La reproduction dans un catalogue, l’affiche, la carte postale, l’image sur l’Internet relèvent toutes du domaine public, mais il n’en va pas de même pour la matérialité de l’objet. Quel est le rapport entre le public et le privé, l’original et la reproduction dans la danse ? À quel point l’accès au théâtre est-il démocratique ? Comment un spectacle de danse, Private Collection par exemple, s’inscrit-il dans l’imaginaire public ? Quelle est la matérialité de ce média éphémère et de qui est-il la propriété ?

Avec Extraction, Marc Vanrunxt ne reconstitue pas le solo de 1998, mais tente de le repeindre, d’en distiller l’essence, de présenter Eva Kamala Rodenburg sous un jour encore plus beau et plus sophistiqué. Son corps devient le plan de projection de nos désirs – on ne la désire pas en tant que personne, mais on convoite l’attention et les soins qui ont modelé cette apparition. La chorégraphie est un moulage, un motif exclusif qui résulte d’un travail sur mesure, un produit de luxe que l’on extrait du danseur avec précision et minutie.

Marc Vanrunxt permet régulièrement des « insertions » de plasticiens ou de musiciens dans son œuvre. Pour Extraction, il travaille avec le photographe David Bergé et la collaboratrice artistique Myriam Van Imschoot. Ils partagent une fascination pour les œuvres monochromes, les surfaces unicolores que l’on ressent – malgré leur abstraction – comme d’autant plus réelles qu’elles ne représentent et ne peuvent devenir rien d’autre que la matérialité qu’elles sont.


choreography Marc Vanrunxt | with Eva Kamala Rodenburg | artistic collaborators David Bergé, Myriam Van Imschoot | lights, technique Stef Alleweireldt | advice Marie-Anne Schotte | production Kunst/Werk | co-production Kaaitheater | support Vlaamse Gemeenschap | in association with Vooruit (Ghent) | support Vlaamse Gemeenschap