Michiel Vandevelde [BE]

Ends of worlds

Ends of worlds
Ends of worlds

04.04 – 05.04.2019

How can we say something about the future through the lens of the past? Michiel Vandevelde examines the recent history of western modern and contemporary dance, from Isadora Duncan to Anna Halprin. Their dances and choreographies are read as codes and signs from the past that infiltrate the future. Which ideological remains are reflected through these dances? What if the traces of these dances are to survive humankind as we know it? How would they be interpreted in the future?

The year is 0.2300. The bodies of the dancers: reproduced homo sapiens. The stage: a historical reconstruction. The dance: an evocation of a past space-time construct. In five speculative acts about the past from the future, the present is inevitably reflected upon. This way, choreography becomes a form of science-fiction. Whilst time traveling, not only is the history of dance misrepresented and reimagined, but also past disasters are remembered.

• Artist-in-residence Michiel Vandevelde – a graduate from PARTS who is active as a choreographer and curator of Extra City – has been noted over the past few years for his quadriptych about re-appropriation in which he transforms popular dance motifs into something new. Three productions in this series were staged at Kaaitheater: Antithesis, Our times, and Andrade.


choreography Michiel Vandevelde | dance Jara Vlaeminckx, Bryana Fritz, Amanda Barrio Charmelo & Mario Barrantes Espinoza | costume Lila John | dramaturgy Esther Severi | technique Tom Bruwier | production Disagree. vzw | co-production Kaaitheater, PACT Zollverein, Buda, Pianofabriek | international distribution Something great | financial management Klein Verzet vzw | residencies Kaaitheater, Stuk, DeSingel, PACT Zollverein, Buda, Pianofabriek | supported by De Vlaamse Overheid

programme booklet

Related content

Michiel Vandevelde & 431

Precarious Pavilions #2 – the new local

Precarious Pavilions #2 – the new local
Precarious Pavilions #2 – the new local

production

Wed 10.10 - Sat 13.10.18

Artist-in-residence at Kaaitheater Michiel Vandevelde is touring four cities with his Precarious Pavilions. In each city, he builds a pavilion with a different artist, each time asking the question: ‘How do we deal with space and architecture in this unstable world?’ For his second pavilion in Brussels, choreographer Michiel Vandevelde and the collective 431 are coming to the Place de la Monnaie.

The Political Party

Alternative Election Show

debate

Alternative Election Show
Alternative Election Show

debate

Tue 30.04.19

On the eve of the European, federal and regional elections, The Political Party is organizing an alternative election show to offer a stage to the opinionmakers of tomorrow. Europe, access to justice, labour and precarity, ecology, democracy, decolonization, education, public health: nine young, progressive will explore these eight themes. How will we face and tackle the challenges of today and tomorrow together?

Michiel Vandevelde [BE]

Ends of worlds

Ends of worlds
Ends of worlds

04.04 – 05.04.2019

Peut-on prédire l’avenir à l’aune du passé ? Michiel Vandevelde analyse le passé à la faveur de la danse moderne et contemporaine occidentale, et plus précisément par le biais de figures clés comme Isadora Duncan et Anna Halprin. On peut lire leurs chorégraphies comme des codes et des signes du passé qui infiltrent l’avenir. Et si leur danse était la seule chose qui survive à l’humanité ? Quels résidus idéologiques peut-on observer au travers de leurs chorégraphies ? Et quelle lecture de ces matériaux feraient des créatures futures – de « nouveaux humains » ?

On est en l’an 0.2300. Les corps des danseurs sont des reproductions d’homo sapiens. Le théâtre : une reconstruction historique. La danse : une évocation d’une construction espace-temps précédente. En cinq parties spéculatives sur le passé, à partir du futur, il est inévitablement question du présent. Les chorégraphies deviennent ainsi une forme de science-fiction. Ce voyage dans le temps attribue non seulement des représentations et des images erronées à la danse, mais des catastrophes passées se manifestent aussi.

• L’artiste en résidence au Kaaitheater, Michiel Vandevelde – diplômé de PARTS et actif en tant que chorégraphe et commissaire d’expositions à Extra City – s’est fait remarquer au cours des dernières années avec un quadriptyque autour de la réappropriation dans lequel il transforme des motifs de danse populaire en quelque chose de nouveau. Trois de ces spectacles ont figuré au programme du Kaaitheater : Antithesis, Our times et Andrade.


choreography Michiel Vandevelde | dance Jara Vlaeminckx, Bryana Fritz, Amanda Barrio Charmelo & Mario Barrantes Espinoza | costume Lila John | dramaturgy Esther Severi | technique Tom Bruwier | production Disagree. vzw | co-production Kaaitheater, PACT Zollverein, Buda, Pianofabriek | international distribution Something great | financial management Klein Verzet vzw | residencies Kaaitheater, Stuk, DeSingel, PACT Zollverein, Buda, Pianofabriek | supported by De Vlaamse Overheid

feuille de salle

Sujets apparentés

Michiel Vandevelde & 431

Precarious Pavilions #2 – the new local

Precarious Pavilions #2 – the new local
Precarious Pavilions #2 – the new local

production

me 10.10 - sa 13.10.18

Avec Precarious Pavilions, l'artiste en résidence au Kaaitheater Michiel Vandevelde voyage dans quatre villes. Dans chacune, il construit un pavillon avec un autre artiste, chaque fois autour de la question : « Comment abordons-nous l’espace et l’architecture dans ce monde instable ? » Pour le deuxième pavillon de la série, le chorégraphe Michiel Vandevelde et le collectif 431 atterrissent place de la Monnaie.

The Political Party

Alternative Election Show

débat

Alternative Election Show
Alternative Election Show

débat

ma 30.04.19

À la veille des élections européennes, fédérales et régionales, The Political Party organise un spectacle électoral alternatif qui donne voix au chapitre à des faiseurs d’opinion de demain. Europe, accès à la justice, travail, écologie, démocratie, décolonisation, éducation, santé publique : neuf jeunes voix progressistes s’attaquent à huit thèmes. Comment relève-t-on ensemble les défis d’aujourd’hui et de demain ?