Ictus, Collegium Vocale Gent & Suzanne Vega [BE, BE, US]

Einstein on the Beach [Musicians at Work]

Einstein on the Beach
Einstein on the Beach

05.06.2019

The legendary opera Einstein on the Beach by Phillip Glass, Robert Wilson and Lucinda Childs premièred at the Festival of Avignon in 1976. It was certainly not a conventional opera. It lasted for more than five hours and the audience could freely come in and out. It wasn’t about telling a continuous story but about experiencing time itself. For this new concertante version, the Ictus ensemble is joining forces with the Collegium Vocale Ghent and with neo-folk legend Suzanne Vega. There is no spectacular staging in the style of Robert Wilson this time; the musical composition and the musicality of the libretto are the central focus in a minimalist and hypnotizing soundscape that lasts 200 minutes. The visual and spatial interventions by Dutch visual artist Germaine Kruip will ensure a continuum between the stage and the audience.

• Collegium Vocale Gent is an ensemble led by conductor Phillippe Herreweghe that has been taking the world by storm since the 1970s. Germaine Kruip is a scenographer and visual artist, and has been featured at Kaaitheater twice before: during Performatik15 and during the Kunstenfestivaldesarts 2016. The Brussels music ensemble Ictus is a fixture of the Kaaitheater programme. This season, they are also presenting creations with Mette Edvardsen and Matteo Fargion, Eleanor Bauer, and Noé Soulier.


music Philip Glass | texts Christopher Knowles, Samuel M. Johnson, Lucinda Childs | narrator Suzanne Vega | musical director Georges-Elie Octors | assisted by Tom De Cock | scenography Germaine Kruip | dramaturgy Maarten Beirens | Collegium Vocale Gent Joowon Chung, Magdalena Podkościelna, Charlotte Schoeters (sopranos); Sofia Gvirts, Karolina Hartman, Cécile Pilorger (altos); Malcolm Bennett, Peter di Toro, Hitoshi Tamada (tenors); Charles Dekeyser, Julian Millán, Bart Vandewege (basses) | Ictus Igor Semenoff (violin); Michael Schmid, Chryssi Dimitriou (flutes); Jean-Luc Fafchamps, Jean-Luc Plouvier (keyboards); Dirk Descheemaeker (bass clarinet, soprano sax); Asagi Ito (alto and soprano saxophones); Alexandre Fostier (sound) Wilfried Van Dyck (production)

Related content

Ictus & Julie Pfleiderer

SAFE

music

SAFE
SAFE

production

Thu 22.11 - Fri 23.11.18

As both a concert and a performance, SAFE starts from Todd Haynes’ film Safe (1995), to sketch an image of contemporary hypersensitivity: join an immersive journey that will stimulate all your senses. What starts as a concert gradually evolves into a sophisticated live audio play.

Eleanor Bauer & Chris Peck

New Joy

performance music

New Joy
New Joy

production

Thu 30.05 - Sat 01.06.19

To grasp the challenges of our age by the horns, New Joy imagines a 21st-century version of Dadaism: dataism. Eleanor Bauer and Chris Peck, mix aesthetic, social, and informational dimensions, resulting in a cyber a cappela Dataist opera. Be swept into the eye of the sensory information storm!

Ictus, Collegium Vocale Gent & Suzanne Vega [BE, BE, US]

Einstein on the Beach [Musicians at Work]

Einstein on the Beach
Einstein on the Beach

05.06.2019

En 1976, le Festival d’Avignon a présenté la première de l’opéra légendaire Einstein on the Beach de Phillip Glass, Robert Wilson et Lucinda Childs. Ce n’était certes pas un opéra classique : il durait plus de cinq heures et le public pouvait aller et venir à sa guise, il ne racontait pas une histoire continue, mais parlait de l’expérience du temps lui-même. Pour cette nouvelle version concertante, l’ensemble Ictus unit ses forces avec le chœur Collegium Vocale Gent et la légende néo-folk Suzanne Vega. Cette fois, pas de mise en scène spectaculaire à la Robert Wilson, mais priorité à la composition musicale et à la musicalité du livret au cours d’une immersion sonore minimaliste et hypnotique de 200 minutes. Les interventions visuelles et spatiales de la plasticienne néerlandaise Germaine Kruip assurent un continuum entre la scène et le public.

• Collegium Vocale Gent est l’ensemble du chef d’orchestre Philippe Herreweghe qui séduit le monde depuis la fin des années 70. Germaine Kruip est scénographe et plasticienne et était déjà à deux reprises à l’affiche du Kaaitheater : durant Performatik15 et lors du Kunstenfestivaldesarts 2016. L’ensemble musical bruxellois Ictus est une valeur sûre au programme du Kaaitheater. Cette saison, il participe aussi aux créations de Mette Edvardsen et Matteo Fargion, d’Eleanor Bauer et de Noé Soulier.


music Philip Glass | texts Christopher Knowles, Samuel M. Johnson, Lucinda Childs | narrator Suzanne Vega | musical director Georges-Elie Octors & Tom De Cock | choir master Maria van Nieukerken | scenography Germaine Kruip | technical coordination Wilfried Van Dyck | light designer Chris Vanneste | light designer assistant Wannes De Rydt | sound engineer Alexandre Fostier | assistant sound engineer Suse Ribeiro | costume Anne-Catherine Kunz | dramaturgy Maarten Beirens | scenography assistant Maxime Fauconnier | COLLEGIUM VOCALE GENT: choir solo parts sopranos Joowon Chung, Magdalena Podkościelna, Elisabeth Rapp, Charlotte Schoeters | altos Ursula Ebner, Karolina Hartman, Gudrun Köllner, Cécile Pilorger | tenors Malcolm Bennett, Peter di Toro, Hitoshi Tamada, Basses Charles Dekeyser, Philipp Kaven, Bart Vandewege | ICTUS: violin Igor Semenoff | flutes Michael Schmid, Chryssi Dimitriou | keyboards Jean-Luc Fafchamps, Jean-Luc Plouvier | bass clarinet, soprano sax Dirk Descheemaeker | alto and soprano saxophones Asagi Ito

Sujets apparentés

Ictus & Julie Pfleiderer

SAFE

musique performance

SAFE
SAFE

musique

je 22.11 - ve 23.11.18

SAFE commence comme un concert, pour évoluer en pièce radiophonique sophistiquée. Avec le film Safe (1995) de Todd Haynes pour point de départ – dans lequel une femme subit des crises d’allergie de plus en plus intenses – Ictus et Julie Pfleiderer brossent une image de l’hypersensibilité actuelle. Embarquez-vous dans un voyage immersif qui joue sur tous les sens !

Eleanor Bauer & Chris Peck

New Joy

performance musique

New Joy
New Joy

performance

je 30.05 - sa 01.06.19

Eleanor Bauer aime plaisanter avec les codes et les concepts de la danse contemporaine. Dans New Joy, elle affronte l’ère de la post-vérité : cette comédie musicale cyber-dadaïste transgresse les frontières de différents registres. Des allers-retours entre langage du corps, langage parlé et langage informatique, entre intelligence émotionnelle et artificielle, entre mouvement et son. Avec son complice, le compositeur Chris Peck, Bauer mise sur tous les sens dans une quête de sens et de significations cachées.