Sequentia [Cologne]

Edda

Edda
Edda

03.03.2006

More and more musicians-researchers are exploring very early music. This cycle presents a sample of their discoveries. Dialogos and Sequentia offer musical reconstructions of literary works such as the Edda and The Vision of Tondal. The Capilla Flamenca takes us to a later period, that of the Ars Nova. The ensemble Mala Punica creates instrumental and vocal variations on French and Italian music of the fourteenth century.

Sequentia was founded by Benjamin Bagby and the late Barbara Thornton in 1977 and presents a repertoire extending from the tenth to the fourteenth century. The ensemble has its headquarters in Cologne and scored a ‘world hit’ with its recording of the Canticles of Ecstasy by the mystic Hildegard von Bingen. 

Edda is one of the oldest Icelandic legends and tells the story of the Rhinegold, which also inspired Wagner’s Ring Cycle. Bagby’s research led him to Icelandic and other traditional Norse folk music. Sequentia sings the original texts of the Edda (c. 800-1000).

Sequentia [Cologne]

Edda

Edda
Edda

03.03.2006

La recherche exhume chaque jour de nouveaux chefs d'oeuvre de la musique médiévale. Ainsi, les ensembles Dialogos et Sequentia présentent des reconstitutions musicales autour d'épopées comme l'Edda et La Vision de Tondal, la Capilla Flamenca nous entraîne aux abords de l'Ars Nova; et l’ensemble Mala Punica nous propose un bouquet de variations vocales et instrumentales issues de la musique italienne et française du XIVe siècle.

Benjamin Bagby et feu Barbara Thornton ont fondé Sequentia en 1977. Sequentia interprète un répertoire qui couvre la période du Xe au XIVe siècle. L’ensemble, basé à Cologne, a connu un succès mondial, avec ses enregistrements des Canticles of Ecstasy de la mystique Hildegard von Bingen.

L’Edda est l’une des plus anciennes légendes islandaises et raconte l’histoire de l’or du Rhin, qui a également inspiré Wagner pour son cycle du Ring. La recherche de Bagby l’a mené vers la musique populaire traditionnelle d’Islande et Norvège. Sequentia interprète les textes originaux de l’Edda (ca. 800-1000).