Toneelhuis/Guy Cassiers/Josse De Pauw [BE]

Duister Hart

Duister Hart
Duister Hart

19.04 – 21.04.2012

Heart of Darkness is without doubt the most famous work by the Polish-English writer Joseph Conrad (1857-1924). This ‘parable’ has inspired many artists, a.o. Francis Ford Coppola (Apocalypse Now). Duister hart is Josse De Pauw’s adaptation of Conrad’s novella, in which he also performs on stage, directed by Guy Cassiers. 

Marlow, the narrator of the story, is looking for the reprobate agent Kurtz who is somewhere in the bush. Kurtz is able to collect and deliver far more ivory than any other agent, but the profits he makes are apparently gained through cruel and illegal practices. Deep in the jungle he has built his paradise. The expedition finally arrives there only to find that Kurtz is dying. He speaks his last words on life and his life: ‘The horror! The horror!’ Marlow brings Kurtz’ ‘legacy’ to ‘the civilized world’...

In 2009 Josse De Pauw and Guy Cassiers tackled an impressive adaptation of yet another masterpiece of world literature: Under the Volcano by Malcolm Lowry. In Duister hart, the storyteller Josse De Pauw adds yet another title to his long list of monologues.


direction Guy Cassiers | text  Josse De Pauw | after Joseph Conrad |
dramaturgy
Erwin Jans | with Josse De Pauw | design Guy Cassiers, Enrico
Bagnoli | lighting design Enrico Bagnoli | sound design Diederik De
Cock | video design Arjen Klerkx | costumes Kristin Van Passel,
Charlotte Willems | make-up Ingeborg Van Eetvelde | production
Toneelhuis (Antwerp) | co-production Théâtre de la Ville (Paris),
Festival d’Automne (Paris)

Toneelhuis/Guy Cassiers/Josse De Pauw [BE]

Duister Hart

Duister Hart
Duister Hart

19.04 – 21.04.2012

Heart of Darkness est sans aucun doute l’œuvre la plus connue de l’écrivain polonais-britannique Joseph Conrad (1857-1924). Ce roman a exercé une grande influence sur une série d’artistes, e.a. Francis Ford Coppola (Apocalypse now). Duister hart est l’adaptation que Josse De Pauw a réalisée de cette nouvelle de Conrad, et qu’il joue lui-même sur scène, dans une mise en scène de Guy Cassiers.

Marlow, le narrateur, est à la recherche de l’agent commercial Kurtz, qui se trouve au fond de la brousse et a perdu pied avec la réalité. Celui-ci collecte et fournit beaucoup plus d’ivoire que les autres agents, mais il y parvient manifestement par le biais de pratiques cruelles et illicites. Dans la jungle profonde, il a créé son petit paradis. Quand l’expédition atteint finalement sa destination, Kurtz est mourant ; il prononce ses dernières paroles sur la/sa vie : « L’horreur ! L’horreur ! » Marlow emportera cet « héritage » vers « le monde civilisé » …

En 2009, Josse De Pauw et Guy Cassiers ont signé une adaptation impressionnante d’un autre chef-d’œuvre de la littérature mondiale : Onder de vulkaan de Malcolm Lowry. Avec Duister hart, le conteur né Josse De Pauw ajoute un nouveau titre à sa longue liste de monologues.


direction Guy Cassiers | text  Josse De Pauw | after Joseph Conrad |
dramaturgy
Erwin Jans | with Josse De Pauw | design Guy Cassiers, Enrico
Bagnoli | lighting design Enrico Bagnoli | sound design Diederik De
Cock | video design Arjen Klerkx | costumes Kristin Van Passel,
Charlotte Willems | make-up Ingeborg Van Eetvelde | production
Toneelhuis (Antwerp) | co-production Théâtre de la Ville (Paris),
Festival d’Automne (Paris)