La Manufacture Simone Aughterlony, Marcelo Evelin & the students of the Bachelor in Contemporary Dance at La Manufacture

DRAMA. ApocalypticDanceFloor + Agenda

DRAMA. ApocalypticDanceFloor + Agenda
DRAMA. ApocalypticDanceFloor + Agenda

19.06 – 20.06.2021

Students of the Swiss performance school La Manufacture come to Brussels to show their end-of-year projects. Two choreographies will be performed, under the guidance of choreographers Simone Aughterlony and Marcelo Evelin. Simone Aughterlony questions the lingering and politically charged notion of the “stranger” through the lens of the collage. Marcelo Evelin displays a brutal flow of bodies confronting each other in their otherness on the music of Brazilian trio Tantão e Os Fita.

• La Manufacture - Haute école des arts de la scène, is a university of performing arts based in Switzerland, offering training in theatre and dance with a focus on research and creativity. Students, practitioners, artists, researchers and tutors work on a single site, where ideas and practice come together and where the performing arts are viewed from a contemporary and multi-disciplinary standpoint.

–PROGRAMME–

Marcelo Evelin | DRAMA. ApocalypticDanceFloor

The word DRAMA means ‘action’ or ‘to take action’ in Greek, while in today's life it can mean an overreaction or blowing things out of control. DRAMA takes the body in its excitement, brutality, rage, joy and fragility. It leaves room for dissent – in opposition to harmony – to allow the embodying of the dancers' desires, conflicts, and paradoxes.

 

Simone Aughterlony | Agenda

As a collection of pieces of other things, this collage treats space as a canvas where found sources and references accumulate and maintain an impossible proximity. Like our world, it sustains an enduring dialogue of contradictions and meanings. The thirteen dancers question the nuances of coexistence versus conflict and the way affect shapes the spaces we inhabit.

 


Both pieceschoreographers Simone Aughterlony & Marcelo Evelin | with the students from the Bachelor in Contemporary Dance, class E: Léa Samira Bernath, Emmelien Chemouny, Johanne Closuit, Julian Gypens, Marie Jeger, Eva Lambillon, Maira Nett, Emma Saba, Catol Teixeira, Melissa Valette, Sébastien Veszely, Aisi Zhou | assistant choreographer & tour manager Simon Wehrl | production La Manufacture - Haute école des arts de la scène

DRAMA. ApocalypticDanceFloorassistant choreographer Bruno Moreno | light design Céline Ribeiro | sound design & technique Ian Lecoultre | technique Emile de Gautard

Agendaassistant choreographer Ludovic Vial | light design Ariel Efraim Ashbel, Céline Ribeiro | sound design Simon Grab | technique  Emile de Gautard, Ian Lecoultre

La Manufacture Simone Aughterlony, Marcelo Evelin & les Étudiants du Bachelor en Danse contemporaine

DRAMA. ApocalypticDanceFloor + Agenda

DRAMA. ApocalypticDanceFloor + Agenda
DRAMA. ApocalypticDanceFloor + Agenda

19.06 – 20.06.2021

Les étudiants de l’école suisse des arts de la scène La Manufacture viennent montrer leurs projets de fin d’année à Bruxelles. Au programme, deux spectacles sous l’œil vigilant des chorégraphes Simone Aughterlony et Marcelo Evelin. Simone Aughterlony aborde la notion politiquement chargée de « l’étranger » comme un collage. Marcelo Evelin présente quant à lui une piste de danse apocalyptique sur laquelle un flot brutal de corps s’entrechoquent sur la musique énergique du trio brésilien Tantão e Os Fita.

• La Manufacture – Haute école des arts de la scène, est une université suisse des arts du spectacle vivant qui propose des formations de théâtre et de danse mettant l’accent sur la recherche et la créativité. Étudiant·e·s, artistes, chercheur·se·s et enseignant·e·s travaillent sur un même site, où idées et pratique se rencontrent et où les arts du spectacle sont envisagés à partir d’un point de vue contemporain et pluridisciplinaire.

–PROGRAMME–

Marcelo Evelin | DRAMA. ApocalypticDanceFloor

Le mot DRAMA signifie « action » ou « agir » en grec, alors que dans la vie d’aujourd’hui, il peut signifier une réaction excessive ou faire exploser les choses à en perdre le contrôle. DRAMA emmène le corps vers son état d’excitation, de brutalité, de rage, de joie et de fragilité. Cela laisse de la place à la dissidence – par opposition à l’harmonie – pour permettre l’incarnation des désirs, des conflits et des paradoxes des danseurs.

Simone Aughterlony | Agenda

En tant que collection de fragments d’autres choses, ce collage traite l’espace comme une toile où les sources et les références trouvées s’accumulent et maintiennent une proximité impossible. À l’instar de notre monde, il entretient un dialogue permanent de contradictions et de significations. Les treize danseurs interrogent les nuances de la coexistence par opposition au conflit et la manière dont l’affect façonne les espaces que nous habitons.


Both pieceschoreographers Simone Aughterlony & Marcelo Evelin | with the students from the Bachelor in Contemporary Dance, class E: Léa Samira Bernath, Emmelien Chemouny, Johanne Closuit, Julian Gypens, Marie Jeger, Eva Lambillon, Maira Nett, Emma Saba, Catol Teixeira, Melissa Valette, Sébastien Veszely, Aisi Zhou | assistant choreographer & tour manager Simon Wehrl | production La Manufacture - Haute école des arts de la scène

DRAMA. ApocalypticDanceFloorassistant choreographer Bruno Moreno | light design Céline Ribeiro | sound design & technique Ian Lecoultre | technique Emile de Gautard

Agendaassistant choreographer Ludovic Vial | light design Ariel Efraim Ashbel, Céline Ribeiro | sound design Simon Grab | technique  Emile de Gautard, Ian Lecoultre