Lara Staal/NTGent

Dissident

Dissident
Dissident

27.11.2021

Five ‘problem youths’ are occupying the stage. Often unconsciously, they have become experts in provoking the prevailing authorities. But this time, the roles are reversed, and they educate the audience. What happens when you are always the exception? And what do the rules and expectations of secondary education say about how we conceive of successful citizenship?

Lara Staal went in search of young people who refuse to adjust and who consistently challenge power relationships. Their perspective holds up a mirror to us: what can we learn from things that are inconvenient? They develop the script of this ‘lecture’ together. With beatboxer and musician Serdi Faki Alici on the team, some of the texts are reforged into rhythmic spoken word. Filmmaker Pascal Poisonnier films conversations with parents, teachers, counsellors and with Lara Staal herself. But ultimately, it is the young performers who are at the wheel and determine which material supports their argument.

• Lara Staal is a Dutch researcher, author and artist-curator. She recently developed gripping performative formats around social themes: Congres van de Utopie (Congress of the Utopia; with visual artist Jonas Staal), De Avond van de Woede (The Evening of Rage; with rapper Gideon Everduim) and Europe on Trial (with human rights activist Yoonis Osman Nuur). At NTGent, she is creating the series De Staat van (The State of).


direction Lara Staal | with Eliaz Bello Medrano, Seppe Jacobs, Isaac Van Weyenberg, Siham Lamrini, Haroun Couvreur, Serdi Faki Alici | coach Serdi Faki Alici | dramaturgy Eline Banken | set design Grischa Runge | video Pascal Poissonnier | production NTGent | in collaboration with several schools in Ghent| with the support of the Belgian Tax Shelter

There's more

Spaghettislag in Kaaitheater!

Brussel Helpt 2021

spaghetti fest

Brussel Helpt 2021
Brussel Helpt 2021

spaghetti fest

Sat 27.11.21

For the fourth year in a row, we participate in Brussels Helpt, BRUZZ's annual solidarity action. The cook of Kaaicafé will provide delicious steaming plates of spaghetti - choose bolognaise, veggie or halal. You will also be supporting NAKAMA vzw, an enthusiastic and ambitious youth collective that works for young people from the most vulnerable neighbourhoods in Brussels. After your meal, you can catch Lara Staal's performance Dissident, in which five 'problem youths' take over the Kaaitheater stage. Bon appétit !

Lara Staal/NTGent

Dissident

Dissident
Dissident

27.11.2021

Cinq « jeunes à problèmes » occupent la scène. Souvent inconsciemment, ils sont devenus des experts dans la provocation de l’autorité en place. Mais cette fois-ci, les rôles sont inversés et ce sont eux qui instruisent le public. Que signifie être continuellement l’exception ? Et que disent les règles et les attentes dans l’enseignement secondaire sur ce que nous entendons par citoyenneté réussie ?

Lara Staal est partie en quête de jeunes qui refusent de s’adapter et qui défient invariablement les relations de pouvoir. Leur regard nous tend un miroir : que pouvons-nous attendre de ce qui ne nous arrange pas ? Ensemble, ils élaborent le scénario pour ce « collège ». Avec le beatboxer et musicien Serdi Faki Alici dans l’équipe, certains textes sont transformés en spoken word rythmique. Le cinéaste Pascal Poisonnier filme les conversations avec les parents, les professeurs, les accompagnateurs et Lara Staal. Finalement, ce sont les jeunes acteurs qui sont aux manettes et décident quel matériau soutient le mieux leur exposé.

• Lara Staal est une chercheuse, écrivaine, artiste et commissaire d’expositions néerlandaise. Récemment, elle a développé des formules performatives captivantes autour de thèmes sociétaux : Congres van de Utopie (le congrès de l’utopie, avec le plasticien Jonas Staal), De Avond van de Woede (la soirée de la colère, avec le rappeur Gideon Everduim) et Europe on Trial (le procès de l’Europe, avec l’activiste pour les droits humains Yoonis Osman Nuur). Pour NTGent, elle a créé la série De Staat van…


direction Lara Staal | with Eliaz Bello Medrano, Seppe Jacobs, Isaac Van Weyenberg, Siham Lamrini, Haroun Couvreur, Serdi Faki Alici | coach Serdi Faki Alici | dramaturgy Eline Banken | set design Grischa Runge | video Pascal Poissonnier | production NTGent | in collaboration with several schools in Ghent| with the support of the Belgian Tax Shelter

There's more

Spaghettislag in Kaaitheater!

Brussel Helpt 2021

souper spaghetti

Brussel Helpt 2021
Brussel Helpt 2021

souper spaghetti

sa 27.11.21

Pour la quatrième année consécutive, nous participons à Brussel Helpt, l'action de solidarité annuelle de BRUZZ. Le cuisinier du Kaaicafé fournira de délicieuses assiettes fumantes de spaghetti, à choisir bolognaise, végétarien ou halal. Vous soutiendrez également l'asbl NAKAMA, un collectif enthousiaste et ambitieux qui œuvre en faveur des jeunes issus des quartiers les plus défavorisés de Bruxelles. Après votre repas, vous pouvez assister au spectacle de Lara Staal, Dissident, dans lequel cinq « jeunes à problèmes » occupent la scène du Kaaitheater. Bon appétit !

Lees meer - Dissident

Lees meer - Dissident
Lees meer - Dissident

article

me 24.11.21

Lees meer over Dissident