Kate McIntosh [BE]

Dark Matter

Dark Matter
Dark Matter

21.11 – 22.11.2009

As glamorous as a musical and as quick-witted as a stand-up comedy act; this is a good description of the past work of the New Zealand diva Kate McIntosh. She has already appeared on the Kaaitheater programme, with her powerful solo All Natural and the surprising group work Hair from the Throat. In her new project, Dark Matter, she is herself onstage once again. And again there is that penchant for glamour and that odd humour, this time enhanced with bursts of popular science and similar philosophical reflections on nature, the world and the universe.

La McIntosh appears in a glitter dress and is aided by two devoted but clumsy assistants. They throw themselves with abandon into all sorts of tests and experiments. It doesn’t matter if you can’t follow the pseudo-scientific reasoning, the performers’ body language makes a lot of things clear. You are made an accessory to the enthusiasm for successful or failed demonstrations, to the magic and the drama.

Dark Matter is a humorous show that occasionally arouses some unease too. Kate McIntosh: ‘How is anyone to imagine a thing like ten dimensions? Or a black hole? It makes for excitement and curiosity, but also confusion and anxiety, because you can’t integrate this information into your daily life in any way at all.’

Kate McIntosh tackles these questions not only through language and rational processes. She sees thought as movement and therefore as very physical. Her main interest is the gap between what can be thought and what can be physically displayed or experienced.


a project by Kate McIntosh | performers Thomas Kasebacher, Kate McIntosh, Bruno Roubicek | text Kate McIntosh & Tim Etchells | dramaturg Pascale Petralia | light design Minna Tiikkainen | sound design Mikko Hynninen | costumes Sofie Durnez | light technician Joëlle Reyns | production Margarita Production for TOF vzw | coproduction CONNECTIONS Network, Kaaitheater (B), Les Spectacles vivants – Centre Pompidou (F) | in partnership with De Pianofabriek (B), WorkSpace Brussels (B), WP Zimmer (B), fabrik Potsdam in the frame of Tanzplan Potsdam: Artists-in-Residence (D), Sophiensaele (D) | support de Vlaamse Overheid, Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie
 

 

CONNECTIONS is a mentorship and production initiative of the theatre festival SPIELART Munich in Cooperation with CAMPO (Ghent), Republique (Copenhagen), Forum Freies Theater (Düsseldorf), Theaterhaus Gessnerallee (Zürich), Huis en Festival a/d Werf (Utrecht), Choreographisches Zentrum NRW/PACT Zollverein (Essen), Theater im Pumpenhaus (Münster), Kanuti Gildi SAAL (Tallinn), The Student Center (Zagreb), Koproduktionshaus brut (Vienna) | funded by Kulturstiftung des Bundes & the culture programme of the European Commission

 

Related content

Kate McIntosh

Kate McIntosh
Kate McIntosh

artist

Kaaitheater artist-in-residence 2017-2021

Kate McIntosh [BE]

Dark Matter

Dark Matter
Dark Matter

21.11 – 22.11.2009

Le précédent spectacle de la diva néo-zélandaise Kate McIntosh était glamoureux comme une comédie musicale et prompt à la riposte comme un numéro de stand-up-comedy. Elle a présenté aux Kaaistudio’s son puissant solo All Natural et son étrange spectacle de groupe Hair from the Throat. Pour son nouveau projet, elle est à nouveau elle-même en scène et affiche le même penchant pour le glamour et un humour étrange, qu’elle rehausse cette fois d’une pincée de considérations scientifiques et philosophiques de comptoir à propos de la nature, du monde et de l’univers.

La McIntosh porte une robe à paillettes et est secondée par deux assistants dévoués, mais maladroits. Débordants de ferveur, ils se lancent dans de multiples épreuves et expérimentations. Si l’on ne parvient pas à suivre le manifeste pseudo-scientifique, pas d’inquiétude : le vocabulaire gestuel des performeurs rend les choses assez évidentes. Le public devient complice de l’enthousiasme pour les démonstrations réussies ou ratées, la magie ou le drame.

Dark Matter est un spectacle comique, qui génère parfois un certain malaise. Kate McIntosh : « Comment un être humain devrait-il s’imaginer l’existence en dix dimensions ? Ou un trou noir ? Cela suscite de l’excitation et de la curiosité, mais aussi de la confusion et de l’angoisse, parce que l’on ne peut d’aucune façon intégrer ces informations dans sa vie quotidienne. »

Kate McIntosh n’aborde pas les questions qu’elle se pose uniquement par le biais du langage et de processus rationnels. Elle considère la pensée comme un mouvement, donc de nature hautement physique. Ce qui la fascine par-dessus tout est le fossé entre ce que l’on peut penser et de ce qui peut se démontrer ou se vivre physiquement.


a project by Kate McIntosh | performers Thomas Kasebacher, Kate McIntosh, Bruno Roubicek | text Kate McIntosh & Tim Etchells | dramaturg Pascale Petralia | light design Minna Tiikkainen | sound design Mikko Hynninen | costumes Sofie Durnez | light technician Joëlle Reyns | production Margarita Production for TOF vzw | coproduction CONNECTIONS Network, Kaaitheater (B), Les Spectacles vivants – Centre Pompidou (F) | in partnership with De Pianofabriek (B), WorkSpace Brussels (B), WP Zimmer (B), fabrik Potsdam in the frame of Tanzplan Potsdam: Artists-in-Residence (D), Sophiensaele (D) | support de Vlaamse Overheid, Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie
 

 

CONNECTIONS is a mentorship and production initiative of the theatre festival SPIELART Munich in Cooperation with CAMPO (Ghent), Republique (Copenhagen), Forum Freies Theater (Düsseldorf), Theaterhaus Gessnerallee (Zürich), Huis en Festival a/d Werf (Utrecht), Choreographisches Zentrum NRW/PACT Zollverein (Essen), Theater im Pumpenhaus (Münster), Kanuti Gildi SAAL (Tallinn), The Student Center (Zagreb), Koproduktionshaus brut (Vienna) | funded by Kulturstiftung des Bundes & the culture programme of the European Commission

 

There's more

Kate McIntosh

Kate McIntosh
Kate McIntosh

artiste

Kaaitheater artist-in-residence 2017-2021