Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas

Creation 2023

Creation 2023
Creation 2023

31.05 – 10.06.2023

With this new creation, Anne Teresa De Keersmaekers shifts her exploration of the relationship between music and dance back to pop music. With its simple form, strong melodies and catchy lyrics, pop is for many people the most everyday and immediate music experience.

Pop sets us in motion and creates connection. Through the enjoyment of the danceable and the singable, but also through storytelling: the mundane, but at the same time almost universal, human experiences expressed in it.

This is where the potential of theatre arises and choreographic questions such as: how do you relate to song lyrics? How do you abstract something that is so pronounced? This creation not only encourages dance, but also emphasises the need for stories and music that we can relate to and recognise.

• Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker and her company Rosas are well established in the international contemporary dance scene. She has been closely associated with Kaaitheater since the beginning of her dance career. Her work with pop music dates back to Golden Hours (As You Like It), the similar song by Brian Eno. In the spring of 2023, we will also present En Atendant and Mitten wir in Leben sind.


presented by Théâtre National Bruxelles-Wallonie, Rosas, De Munt/ Monnaie & Kaaitheater

choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker| danced by Rosas | light & set design Jan Versweyveld|production Rosas | co-production De Munt / La Monnaie, Concertgebouw Brugge, Théâtre de la Ville à Paris

There's more

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Jean-Guihen Queyras & Michiaki Ueno / Rosas

Mitten wir im Leben sind / Bach6Cellosuiten

dance music

Mitten wir im Leben sind / Bach6Cellosuiten
Mitten wir im Leben sind / Bach6Cellosuiten
Thu 26.01 - Sat 11.02.23

Three male and two female dancers - including De Keersmaeker herself - adapt, question and dance Bach's six Cello suites. Their ingenious architecture, dancing rhythms and timeless beauty continue to fascinate to this day. An exciting symbiosis of live music and dance.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas & Cour et Cœur

En Atendant

dance music

En Atendant
En Atendant
Thu 15.09 - Sat 01.10.22

For En Atendant, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker took inspiration from the Ars Subtilior, a 14th century polyphonic musical form. Against the complexity and intangibility of life, she places the body. In 2011, the performance was selected for Het Theaterfestival. Now this gem returns to Brussels in the home of Rosas in Vorst/Forest.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas

Creation 2023

Creation 2023
Creation 2023

31.05 – 10.06.2023

Avec cette nouvelle création, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker déplace son exploration de la relation entre la musique et la danse vers la musique pop. Avec sa forme simple, ses mélodies fortes et ses paroles accrocheuses, la pop est pour beaucoup l'expérience musicale la plus quotidienne et la plus immédiate.

La pop nous fait bouger et crée des liens. Par le plaisir de la danse et de la chanson, mais aussi par la narration : les expériences humaines quotidiennes, mais en même temps presque universelles, qui y sont exprimées.

C'est là qu'apparaît le potentiel du théâtre et que se posent des questions chorégraphiques telles que : comment se rapporter aux paroles des chansons ? Comment rendre abstraite une donnée aussi marquée? Cette création n'encourage pas seulement la danse, mais souligne également le besoin d'histoires et de musiques auxquelles nous pouvons nous identifier et reconnaître.

• Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker et sa compagnie Rosas sont des noms reconnus de la danse contemporaine internationale. Depuis le début de sa carrière de danseuse, elle est étroitement associée au Kaaitheater. Elle a déjà travaillé avec la musique pop dans Golden Hours (As You Like It), une chanson similaire de Brian Eno. Au printemps 2023, parallèlement à cette création, nous présenterons également En Atendant et Mitten wir in Leben sind.     


presented by Théâtre National Bruxelles-Wallonie, Rosas, De Munt/ Monnaie & Kaaitheater

choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker| danced by Rosas | light & set design Jan Versweyveld|production Rosas | co-production De Munt / La Monnaie, Concertgebouw Brugge, Théâtre de la Ville à Paris

There's more

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Jean-Guihen Queyras & Michiaki Ueno / Rosas

Mitten wir im Leben sind / Bach6Cellosuiten

danse musique

Mitten wir im Leben sind / Bach6Cellosuiten
Mitten wir im Leben sind / Bach6Cellosuiten
je 26.01 - sa 11.02.23

Trois danseurs et deux danseuses - dont De Keersmaeker elle-même - adaptent, questionnent et dansent les six Suites pour violoncelle de Bach. L'architecture ingénieuse, le rythme dansant et la beauté intemporelle de ces dernières continuent de fasciner jusqu'à aujourd'hui. Une symbiose passionnante entre musique et danse en live.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas & Cour et Cœur

En Atendant

danse musique

En Atendant
En Atendant
je 15.09 - sa 01.10.22

Pour En Atendant, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker s'est inspirée de l'Ars Subtilior, une forme musicale polyphonique du XIVe siècle. Contre la complexité et l'insaisissabilité de la vie, elle impose le corps. En 2011 le spectacle a été sélectionné pour Het Theaterfestival. Cette pépite revient aujourd’hui à Bruxelles au foyer de Rosas à Forest.