Ant Hampton [UK/DE]

Crazy But True (8+)

Crazy But True (8+)
Crazy But True (8+)

21.09.2017

→ The number of wild animals on earth has halved over the past 40 years.
→ You cannot commit suicide by holding your breath.
→ Butterflies taste with their feet.

 

Fearlessly curious

Children have an insatiable hunger for unusual facts and trivia of the ‘crazy but true’ type. In the performance, children between the ages of eight and eleven form a panel of experts. A text is whispered to them via headsets. They repeat what they hear, and thus present a growing list of extraordinary facts. While some are very funny, others are serious, describing a world for which the adult audience is often collectively responsible. This simple proposal using minimal resources becomes increasingly addictive and complex, the longer you stay with it. It is a tender, intergenerational confrontation involving tragic ánd comic extremes.

• Ant Hampton is known for automated devices (autoteatro) and unrehearsed performance situations. He previously presented The Extra People at Kaaitheater, and – during Performatik17 – Someone Else and The Quiet Volume.


by Ant Hampton | creative producer Katja Timmerberg, Livia Piazza | co-production Kaaitheater (Brussels), Rotterdamse Schouwburg, Artsadmin (London), Kunstencentrum Vooruit (Ghent) | support Espacios Revelados (Santiago de Chile), Escenas do Cambio (Santiago de Compostela), ‘No Future’ Performance Biennial (Athens)

Related content

Kaaitheater and Ant Hampton are looking for young actors (8>11Y)

Do you know, it’s Crazy But True!

Kaaitheater and Ant Hampton are looking for young actors (8>11Y)
Kaaitheater and Ant Hampton are looking for young actors (8>11Y)

article

Wed 21.06.17

Do you have or do you know children who love to act? Would you like to see them ascend the stage of Kaaitheater in a funny and bewildering performance about the state of the world? This is the perfect chance to sign them up.

Christophe Meierhans & Ant Hampton

The THING

performance workshop

The THING
The THING

production

Mon 25.09 - Fri 06.10.17

THE THING is an automated and hybrid form consisting of four episodes, in between performance, workshop, and journey. The only ones present are you, a group of 8 to 12 people who open a suitcase and follow a wild mix of different triggers as a guide. Make a leap of faith!

Peter Venmans

Over Hannah Arendt en Nataliteit

talk

Over Hannah Arendt en Nataliteit
Over Hannah Arendt en Nataliteit

production

Thu 21.09.17

We are starting our season about rituals and ritual practice with a lecture about the idea of natality in Hannah Arendt – the human power to start again at certain points in life.

Myriam Van Imschoot & Willem de Wolf

IN KOOR!

music performance

IN KOOR!
IN KOOR!

production

Thu 21.09.17

Along with unpractised singers, Myriam Van Imschoot and Willem de Wolf are exploring the rehearsal process of a choral production. The misses, repetitions and mistakes that occur in the process form the performance material of this production. Because people are at their most vulnerable when they can’t (yet) do what they most desire.

Ant Hampton [UK/DE]

Crazy But True (8+)

Crazy But True (8+)
Crazy But True (8+)

21.09.2017

→ Le nombre d’animaux sauvages sur terre a diminué de moitié au cours des 40 dernières années.
→ On ne peut pas se suicider en retenant son souffle.
→ Les papillons goûtent avec leurs pieds.

 

D’une curiosité intrépide

Les enfants manifestent une insatiable curiosité pour les détails insolites au degré élevé de bizarrerie, mais de véracité aussi. Dans cette performance, des enfants de huit à onze ans constituent « un panel d’experts ». Par le biais d’écouteurs, ils entendent un texte, répètent ce qu’ils entendent et présentent ainsi une liste croissante de faits exceptionnels. Tandis que certains sont très drôles, d’autres décrivent un monde dont le public adulte est souvent responsable de manière collective. Le dispositif simple fait appel à des moyens minimaux, mais fascine de plus en plus à mesure qu’on reste suivre. Préparez-vous à une production tendre, transgénérationnelle qui navigue entre situations extrêmes parfois comiques, parfois tragiques.

• Ant Hampton est connu pour ses structures automatisées (autoteatro) et des situations performatives improvisées. Au Kaaitheater, il a présenté précédemment The Extra People et lors de Performatik17, Someone Else et The Quiet Volume.


by Ant Hampton | creative producer Katja Timmerberg, Livia Piazza | co-production Kaaitheater (Brussels), Rotterdamse Schouwburg, Artsadmin (London), Kunstencentrum Vooruit (Ghent) | support Espacios Revelados (Santiago de Chile), Escenas do Cambio (Santiago de Compostela), ‘No Future’ Performance Biennial (Athens)

Sujets apparentés

Le Kaaitheater et Ant Hampton cherchent de jeunes acteurs/actrices (8>11ans)

Le saviez-vous ? C’est incroyable, mais vrai ! Crazy But True!

Le Kaaitheater et Ant Hampton cherchent de jeunes acteurs/actrices (8>11ans)
Le Kaaitheater et Ant Hampton cherchent de jeunes acteurs/actrices (8>11ans)

article

me 21.06.17

Avez-vous ou connaissez-vous des enfants qui aiment jouer la comédie ? Envie de les voir à l’œuvre sur la scène du Kaaitheater dans un spectacle comique, mais également déconcertant sur la situation du monde ? Alors, ceci est le moment idéal de les inscrire.

Christophe Meierhans & Ant Hampton

The THING

performance workshop

The THING
The THING

production

lu 25.09 - ve 06.10.17

THE THING est une forme hybride et automatisée en quatre épisodes, à mi-chemin entre performance, workshop et expédition explorative. Un groupe de 8 à 12 participants ouvre une valise pour y trouver un foisonnement d’instructions qui lui servira de guide. Sautez par dessus votre propre ombre !

Peter Venmans

Over Hannah Arendt en Nataliteit

talk

Over Hannah Arendt en Nataliteit
Over Hannah Arendt en Nataliteit

production

je 21.09.17

Nous entamons la nouvelle saison, qui s’articulera autour des rituels et pratiques ritualistes, par une conférence sur la notion de natalité dans la philosophie de Hannah Arendt – la faculté de l’être humain à recommencer sa vie à différents moments de son existence.

Myriam Van Imschoot & Willem de Wolf

IN KOOR!

musique performance

IN KOOR!
IN KOOR!

production

je 21.09.17

Avec des chanteurs non expérimentés Myriam Van Imschoot et Willem de Wolf se penchent sur le processus de répétition d’une pièce vocale. Les ratés, les répétitions et les dissonances qui se produisent constituent le matériau de jeu de ce spectacle. Parce que les gens sont le plus vulnérables lorsqu’ils n’arrivent pas (encore) à réaliser ce qu’ils ont tellement envie de faire.