Eva Meyer-Keller & Sybille Müller [DE]

Cooking Catastrophes

Cooking Catastrophes
Cooking Catastrophes

08.06 – 09.06.2012

The Swedish-German performance artist Eva Meyer-Keller is obsessed with food. In Death is certain (in the Kaaistudio’s in 2007) she condemned a number of vegetables to death. Now she’s cooking up a series of disasters.
  
Eva Meyer-Keller is obsessed with disasters. In the video Handmade (Burning Ice 2009) she staged a number of scaled-down disasters. Now she will be bringing them to you live, using soup, juice, sauce and other ingredients.
  
How hungry does an earthquake make you? How delicious is 9/11? How sour is the aftertaste of a tsunami? Along with Sybille Müller, Eva Meyer-Keller looks for a way to relate to the discrepancy between the pleasure of eating and the fear of disaster. Professional cooks help them put together a ten-course menu featuring mudslides, erupting volcanoes, forest fires, nuclear bomb explosions, etc… A performance, a cookery programme and a reflection on the future.

• Eva Meyer-Keller studied dance in Amsterdam and photography in Berlin and London. She has collaborated with artists including Jérôme Bel and les ballets C de la B. Sybille Müller studied dance in Rotterdam and this year graduated from Berlin University. She has collaborated with deufert&plischke and others.


a performance by Eva Meyer-Keller & Sybille Müller | cooks Kane Do, Kristoffer Nilsson And Peter Whaley | camera Marika Heidebäck | production Mossutställningar | co-production Pact Zollverein (Essen), Goethe-Institut Schweden | funded by Fonden Innovativ Kultur, Kulturrådet, Stiftelsen framtidens kultur | support Dansens Hus

Eva Meyer-Keller & Sybille Müller [DE]

Cooking Catastrophes

Cooking Catastrophes
Cooking Catastrophes

08.06 – 09.06.2012

L'artiste suédoise-allemande Eva Meyer-Keller est fascinée par la nourriture. Dans Death is certain (à l'affiche des Kaaistudio's en 2007), elle condamnait des légumes à mort. À présent, elle concocte une série de catastrophes.
  
Eva Meyer-Keller est fascinée par les catastrophes. Dans la vidéo Handmade (Burning Ice 2009), elle mettait en scène des catastrophes à échelle. À présent, elle les présente en direct sur scène, en se servant de soupe, de jus, de sauce et autres ingrédients.
  
Quel appétit suscite un tremblement de terre ? À quel point les attentats du 11 septembre sont-ils appétissants ? L'arrière-goût d'un tsunami est-il âpre ? Eva Meyer-Keller, accompagnée de Sybille Müller, cherche un moyen d'aborder le décalage entre le plaisir de manger et l'angoisse des catastrophes. Des chefs professionnels composent un menu de dix plats avec des coulées de boue, des éruptions volcaniques, des feux de forêt, des explosions atomiques, etc. Une performance, un spectacle culinaire et une réflexion sur l'avenir.

• Eva Meyer-Keller a étudié la danse à Amsterdam et la photographie à Berlin et à Londres. Elle a travaillé avec, entre autres, Jérôme Bel et les ballets C de la B. Sybille Müller a étudié la danse à Rotterdam et achève cette année ses études d'art à l'université de Berlin. Elle a travaillé, entre autres, avec deufert&plischke.


a performance by Eva Meyer-Keller & Sybille Müller | cooks Kane Do, Kristoffer Nilsson And Peter Whaley | camera Marika Heidebäck | production Mossutställningar | co-production Pact Zollverein (Essen), Goethe-Institut Schweden | funded by Fonden Innovativ Kultur, Kulturrådet, Stiftelsen framtidens kultur | support Dansens Hus