Thijs Lijster [NL]

Conversation #6: over de grote vlucht inwaarts

01.04.2019

→ In this series of evening discussions, leading authors, intellectuals and philosophers debate the concept of authenticity.

According to Dutch philosopher Thijs Lijster, in today’s complex world, we increasingly think of society as an ‘outside world’. Because we have no control over it, we turn our gaze inwards. The result? Collective narcissism, the ‘Ikeafication’ of society, and the tendency to evaluate acerbic opinion more highly than thoughtful and balanced judgement. In his collection of essays, Lijster calls this ‘the great flight inward’, and he argues that it is a strategy that is doomed to fail. Against the idea that history is something which happens to us, he champions the collective ability to make history.

Moderator: Wannes Gyselinck

• Thijs Lijster is a philosopher and lecturer. The essay collection The Great Flight Inward. Essays on Culture in an Unsurveyable World was published in 2016. A sequel to the book will be published in the spring of 2019.

 


presented by Kaaitheater & deBuren

Related content

VIDEO: Thijs Lijster

Conversation #6: over de grote vlucht inwaarts

VIDEO: Thijs Lijster
VIDEO: Thijs Lijster

Video

Mon 08.04.19

In onze huidige, complexe wereld zien we de maatschappij steeds meer als een ‘buiten-wereld’, meent de Nederlandse filosoof Thijs Lijster. Tegenover het idee dat geschiedenis iets is dat ons overkomt, breekt hij een lans voor het collectieve vermogen om geschiedenis te maken. Herbekijk dit gesprek.

Didier Eribon

Conversations #1: on 'Retour à Reims' and the Class System

talk

Conversations #1: on 'Retour à Reims' and the Class System
Conversations #1: on 'Retour à Reims' and the Class System

talk

Mon 24.09.18

Sociologist and philosopher Didier Eribon’s Return to Reims combines autobiographical narrative and powerful sociological analysis. By exploring his own family history, he analyses how the class system influenced and continues to influence their lives.

Afua Hirsch

Conversation #4: on race, identity, and belonging

talk

Conversation #4: on race, identity, and belonging
Conversation #4: on race, identity, and belonging

talk

Mon 21.01.19

In her debut Brit(ish): On Race, Identity and Belonging, author, journalist, and human rights activist Afua Hirsch has written a subtle personal history that also sketches the history of a country. Who can and may appropriate British identity?

Nina Power

Conversation #5: on the contemporary portrayal of women

talk

Conversation #5: on the contemporary portrayal of women
Conversation #5: on the contemporary portrayal of women

talk

Fri 08.03.19

In 2009, Nina Power wrote the book One Dimensional Woman about contemporary portrayals of women. Since she published her book, the #MeToo movement and other pressing feminist questions have emerged. How does Nina Power evaluate her book and the appeals she made then, today – on International Women's Day?

Philipp Blom

Conversation #2: A History of the Self

talk

Conversation #2: A History of the Self
Conversation #2: A History of the Self

talk

Mon 03.12.18

Understanding the crisis today based on Enlightenment thinkers: that is how you might describe most of historian Philipp Blom’s books. Journalist and philosopher Anna Luyten will join him for a discussion about the journey of the Enlightenment’s rational, emancipated and authentic self. How far has it come?

Mogobe Ramose

Conversation #3: on Ubuntu philosophy

talk

Conversation #3: on Ubuntu philosophy
Conversation #3: on Ubuntu philosophy

talk

Mon 17.12.18

The South African philosopher Mogobe Ramose wrote the standard work on Ubuntu philosophy: a vision of existence as a continuous stream in which everything is constantly searching for balance and is inseparable connected with everything else.

Thijs Lijster [NL]

Conversation #6: over de grote vlucht inwaarts

01.04.2019

Dans notre monde actuel complexe, nous considérons la société toujours davantage comme un « monde extérieur » pense le philosophe néerlandais Thijs Lijster. Étant donné que nous ne pouvons pas exercer de contrôle sur elle, nous préférons tourner notre regard vers l’intérieur. Narcissisme collectif ou « IKEA-isation » de la société ? Nous observons aussi la tendance que des opinions arrêtées sont vues comme plus valables que des avis bien réfléchis. Cette stratégie, que Lijster qualifie dans son essai de « grande fuite intérieure », est vouée à l’échec selon lui. Face à l’idée que l’Histoire nous prend de court, il défend le potentiel collectif à créer l’Histoire.

Moderateur : Wannes Gyselinck

• Thijs Lijster est philosophe et professeur. Son essai De grote vlucht inwaarts. Essays over cultuur in een onoverzichtelijke wereld [la grande fuite intérieure. Essai sur un monde illisible] est paru en 2016. La suite de l’ouvrage paraîtra au printemps 2019.


presented by Kaaitheater & deBuren

Sujets apparentés

VIDEO: Thijs Lijster

Conversation #6: over de grote vlucht inwaarts

VIDEO: Thijs Lijster
VIDEO: Thijs Lijster

Video

lu 08.04.19

In onze huidige, complexe wereld zien we de maatschappij steeds meer als een ‘buiten-wereld’, meent de Nederlandse filosoof Thijs Lijster. Tegenover het idee dat geschiedenis iets is dat ons overkomt, breekt hij een lans voor het collectieve vermogen om geschiedenis te maken. Herbekijk dit gesprek.

Didier Eribon

Conversation #1: à propos de « Retour à Reims » et le système de classe

talk

Conversation #1: à propos de « Retour à Reims » et le système de classe
Conversation #1: à propos de « Retour à Reims » et le système de classe

talk

lu 24.09.18

Dans son livre Retour à Reims, Didier Eribon combine un récit autobiographique avec une analyse sociologique puissante. Après le décès de son père, l’écrivain retourne dans sa ville natale de Reims. Il y redécouvre le monde ouvrier qu’il a quitté trente ans auparavant. Eribon est le premier hôte d’une série de conférences et de discussions de pleine soirée qui se tiendront tout au long de la saison 2018–2019.

Afua Hirsch

Conversation #4: on race, identity, and belonging

talk

Conversation #4: on race, identity, and belonging
Conversation #4: on race, identity, and belonging

talk

lu 21.01.19

Dans son premier ouvrage Brit(ish): On Race, Identity and Belonging [Britannique : à propos de race, d’identité et d’appartenance], elle écrit un récit personnel subtil qui brosse en même temps le tableau historique plus large d’un pays. Qui peut s’approprier l’identité britannique ?

Nina Power

Conversation #5: on the contemporary portrayal of women

talk

Conversation #5: on the contemporary portrayal of women
Conversation #5: on the contemporary portrayal of women

talk

ve 08.03.19

En 2009, Nina Power a écrit le livre One Dimensional Woman [femme unidimensionnelle] sur le portrait contemporain fait des femmes. Depuis la parution de son ouvrage ont émergé le mouvement #MeToo et d’autres questions brûlantes concernant les femmes. Quel regard rétrospectif Nina Power porte-t-elle sur son ouvrage et son appel d’alors ?

Philipp Blom

Conversation #2: A History of the Self

talk

Conversation #2: A History of the Self
Conversation #2: A History of the Self

talk

lu 03.12.18

Comprendre la crise actuelle à la faveur des penseurs des Lumières : c’est ainsi qu’on pourrait résumer une grande partie de l’œuvre de l’historien Philipp Blom. La journaliste et philosophe Anna Luyten engage la discussion avec lui à propos du chemin entre-temps effectué par l’individu rationnel, émancipé et authentique des Lumières.

Mogobe Ramose

Conversation #3: on Ubuntu philosophy

talk

Conversation #3: on Ubuntu philosophy
Conversation #3: on Ubuntu philosophy

talk

lu 17.12.18

Le philosophe sud-africain Mogobe Ramose a écrit l’ouvrage de référence sur la philosophie Ubuntu : une vision sur l’existence en tant que flux continu dans lequel tout cherche en permanence son équilibre et est indissociablement lié.