Philipp Blom [DE]

Conversation #2: A History of the Self From the Age of Enlightenment to Climate Change

03.12.2018

Understanding the crisis today based on Enlightenment thinkers: that is how you might describe most of historian Philipp Blom’s books. The liberal dream of the 17th century – in which personal rights and freedoms eclipsed religious dogmatism, aristocratic rule, and superstition – has started to undermine itself in the course of history. In Wat er op het Spel Staat (What is at Stake)(2017), Blom sketches how, on the one hand, the dream was shattered in the market, which is governed by the law of the jungle, and on the other, how it collided with the stronghold, a safe fortress in which people hide themselves away to try and return to a past that never really existed. Journalist and philosopher Anna Luyten will join Blom for a discussion about the journey of the Enlightenment’s rational, emancipated and authentic self. How far has it come?

• Philipp Blom (Hamburg, 1970) is a German historian, philosopher and author. He is best-known for his historical non-fiction. He has been a guest of the Kaaitheater twice before, including during Ecopolis 2015.


presented by Kaaitheater, KAAP & KASK Studium Generale

Related content

Didier Eribon

Conversations #1: on 'Retour à Reims' and the Class System

talk

Conversations #1: on 'Retour à Reims' and the Class System
Conversations #1: on 'Retour à Reims' and the Class System

production

Mon 24.09.18

Sociologist and philosopher Didier Eribon’s Return to Reims combines autobiographical narrative and powerful sociological analysis. By exploring his own family history, he analyses how the class system influenced and continues to influence their lives.

Mogobe Ramose

Conversation #3: on Ubuntu philosophy

talk

Conversation #3: on Ubuntu philosophy
Conversation #3: on Ubuntu philosophy

production

Mon 17.12.18

The South African philosopher Mogobe Ramose wrote the standard work on Ubuntu philosophy: a vision of existence as a continuous stream in which everything is constantly searching for balance and is inseparable connected with everything else.

Afua Hirsch

Conversation #4: on race, identity, and belonging

talk

Conversation #4: on race, identity, and belonging
Conversation #4: on race, identity, and belonging

production

Mon 21.01.19

In her debut Brit(ish): On Race, Identity and Belonging, author, journalist, and human rights activist Afua Hirsch has written a subtle personal history that also sketches the history of a country. Who can and may appropriate British identity?

Nina Power

Conversation #5: on the contemporary portrayal of women

talk

Conversation #5: on the contemporary portrayal of women
Conversation #5: on the contemporary portrayal of women

production

Fri 08.03.19

In 2009, Nina Power wrote the book One Dimensional Woman about contemporary portrayals of women. Since she published her book, the #MeToo movement and other pressing feminist questions have emerged. How does Nina Power evaluate her book and the appeals she made then, today – on International Women's Day?

Thijs Lijster

Conversation #6: over de grote vlucht inwaarts

talk

Conversation #6: over de grote vlucht inwaarts
Conversation #6: over de grote vlucht inwaarts

production

Mon 01.04.19

According to Dutch philosopher Thijs Lijster, in today’s complex world, we increasingly think of society as an ‘outside world’. Against the idea that history is something which happens to us, he champions the collective ability to make history.

Philipp Blom [DE]

Conversation #2: A History of the Self From the Age of Enlightenment to Climate Change

Conversation #2: A History of the Self
Conversation #2: A History of the Self

03.12.2018

Comprendre la crise actuelle à la faveur des penseurs des Lumières : c’est ainsi qu’on pourrait résumer une grande partie de l’œuvre de l’historien Philipp Blom. Au fil de l’Histoire, le rêve libéral du XVIIe siècle – dans lequel les droits et les libertés ont supplanté le dogmatisme religieux, la domination aristocratique et la superstition – a creusé sa propre tombe. Dans son ouvrage Was auf dem Spiel steht (2017, traduit en anglais et en néerlandais), Blom explique comment le rêve a, d’une part, volé en éclat avec l’avènement du « marché » où règne la loi du plus fort et s’est, d’autre part, heurté à la forteresse, un lieu sûr où les gens se retranchent pour revenir à un passé imaginaire qui n’a jamais existé. La journaliste et philosophe Anna Luyten engage la discussion avec lui à propos du chemin entre-temps effectué par l’individu rationnel, émancipé et authentique des Lumières.


presented by Kaaitheater, KAAP & KASK Studium Generale

Sujets apparentés

Didier Eribon

Conversation #1: à propos de « Retour à Reims » et le système de classe

talk

Conversation #1: à propos de « Retour à Reims » et le système de classe
Conversation #1: à propos de « Retour à Reims » et le système de classe

talk

lu 24.09.18

Dans son livre Retour à Reims, Didier Eribon combine un récit autobiographique avec une analyse sociologique puissante. Après le décès de son père, l’écrivain retourne dans sa ville natale de Reims. Il y redécouvre le monde ouvrier qu’il a quitté trente ans auparavant. Eribon est le premier hôte d’une série de conférences et de discussions de pleine soirée qui se tiendront tout au long de la saison 2018–2019.

Mogobe Ramose

Conversation #3: on Ubuntu philosophy

talk

Conversation #3: on Ubuntu philosophy
Conversation #3: on Ubuntu philosophy

talk

lu 17.12.18

Le philosophe sud-africain Mogobe Ramose a écrit l’ouvrage de référence sur la philosophie Ubuntu : une vision sur l’existence en tant que flux continu dans lequel tout cherche en permanence son équilibre et est indissociablement lié.

Afua Hirsch

Conversation #4: on race, identity, and belonging

talk

Conversation #4: on race, identity, and belonging
Conversation #4: on race, identity, and belonging

talk

lu 21.01.19

Dans son premier ouvrage Brit(ish): On Race, Identity and Belonging [Britannique : à propos de race, d’identité et d’appartenance], elle écrit un récit personnel subtil qui brosse en même temps le tableau historique plus large d’un pays. Qui peut s’approprier l’identité britannique ?

Nina Power

Conversation #5: on the contemporary portrayal of women

talk

Conversation #5: on the contemporary portrayal of women
Conversation #5: on the contemporary portrayal of women

talk

ve 08.03.19

En 2009, Nina Power a écrit le livre One Dimensional Woman [femme unidimensionnelle] sur le portrait contemporain fait des femmes. Depuis la parution de son ouvrage ont émergé le mouvement #MeToo et d’autres questions brûlantes concernant les femmes. Quel regard rétrospectif Nina Power porte-t-elle sur son ouvrage et son appel d’alors ?

Thijs Lijster

Conversation #6: over de grote vlucht inwaarts

talk

Conversation #6: over de grote vlucht inwaarts
Conversation #6: over de grote vlucht inwaarts

talk

lu 01.04.19

Dans notre monde actuel complexe, nous considérons la société toujours davantage comme un « monde extérieur » pense le philosophe néerlandais Thijs Lijster. Face à l’idée que l’Histoire nous prend de court, il défend le potentiel collectif à créer l’Histoire.

VIDEO: Philipp Blom | Conversation #2

VIDEO: Philipp Blom | Conversation #2
VIDEO: Philipp Blom | Conversation #2

article

ma 11.12.18

Comprendre la crise actuelle à la faveur des penseurs des Lumières : c’est ainsi qu’on pourrait résumer une grande partie de l’œuvre de l’historien Philipp Blom. La journaliste et philosophe Anna Luyten engage la discussion avec lui à propos du chemin entre-temps effectué par l’individu rationnel, émancipé et authentique des Lumières.