Benjamin Vandewalle & Platform-K [BE]

Common Ground

Common Ground
Common Ground

27.10 – 28.10.2018

The worlds of Benjamin Vandewalle, Kobe Wyffels, and Hannah Bekmans couldn’t be more different. One loves jumpstyle and toilet humour, another loves ballet and self-written love songs, while the third loves to observe the world through his camera lens and is secretly an accomplished beatboxer. If it weren’t for this production, the three probably never would have met, but it is their love of dance that has brought them together here. In Common Ground, they search for intersections and differences through movement. One moment they are performing fragile and intimate duets, but the next a competitive test of strength erupts. Sometimes they understand each other, but misunderstandings sometimes result in redefining the rules of the game. Common Ground is a shared space in which they can encounter, explore, and provoke each other in all their difference. What can they learn from one another?

• Benjamin Vandewalle – artist-in-residence at Kaaitheater – has not performed onstage himself since 2013. This production is a return to his earlier dance work. Kobe Wyffels and Hannah Bekmans are both affiliated with Platform-K, the Ghent-based dance space that trains people with a disability to be professional dancers.


creation Benjamin Vandewalle | by and with Benjamin Vandewalle, Kobe Wyffels, Hannah Bekemans | music composition Fulco Ottervanger | music performed by Christian Mendoza | costume design Sofie Durnez | lighting design & technique Marlies Jacques | dramaturgy Charlotte De Somviele | photography Yuri Van der Hoeven | production Platform-K & Vooruit | support Konekt, Lucky Trimmer, Stad Gent, Provincie Oost-Vlaanderen & Vlaamse Overheid

Related content

Matinee Kadee

Young circus performers (0-12 years old)

workshop

Young circus performers (0-12 years old)
Young circus performers (0-12 years old)

workshop

Sun 28.10.18

Circus Zonder Handen is the leading socially inclusive circus school in Brussels. During this acrobatic workshop, the children will learn how to juggle, spin plates, throw a diabolo, and barrel-walk.

Benjamin Vandewalle & HYOID

cancelled - In the Sky I am Walking

music dance

cancelled - In the Sky I am Walking
cancelled - In the Sky I am Walking

music

Tue 15.01 - Wed 16.01.19

Due to productional reasons, this performance is postponed.

The vocal ensemble HYOID and artist-in-residence at Kaaitheater Benjamin Vandewalle are adapting Indianerlieder (1972) by Karlheinz Stockhausen, an iconic but rarely performed work. They are creating a gesamtkunstwerk that aims to reveal the vitality and timelessness of Stockhausen’s music. They are abandoning the original scenography in order to place the audience at the very centre of the three-dimensional ritual.

Benjamin Vandewalle & Platform-K [BE]

Common Ground

Common Ground
Common Ground

27.10 – 28.10.2018

Les univers de Benjamin Vandewalle, de Kobe Wyffels et de Hannah Bekmans ne pourraient être plus éloignés les uns des autres. L’un aime le jumpstyle et l’humour salace, l’autre le ballet et les chansons d’amour écrites de sa main et le dernier aime observer le monde à travers l’objectif de sa caméra et est un beatboxer accompli (une boîte à rythmes humaine). Sans ce spectacle, les trois ne se seraient sans doute jamais rencontrés, mais ici, ils se retrouvent autour de leur amour partagé de la danse. Dans Common Ground, ils partent en quête, par le biais du mouvement, de terrains communs et de différences. Ils interprètent par moments des duos fragiles et intimes, à d’autres moments se déploie une épreuve de force compétitive. Parfois, ils se comprennent, à d’autres moments, des malentendus génèrent de nouvelles règles du jeu. Common Ground est un espace commun dans lequel ils se rencontrent dans toute leur singularité, s’explorent et se provoquent. Que peuvent-ils apprendre les uns des autres ?  

• Benjamin Vandewalle – artiste en résidence au Kaaitheater – n’est plus monté sur scène depuis 2013. Ce spectacle signifie pour lui le retour à l’œuvre dansante de ses débuts. Kobe Wyffels et Hannah Bekmans sont tous deux reliés à la Platform-K, l’atelier de danse gantois qui offre une formation de danseur professionnel à des personnes avec un handicap.


creation Benjamin Vandewalle | by and with Benjamin Vandewalle, Kobe Wyffels, Hannah Bekemans | music composition Fulco Ottervanger | music performed by Christian Mendoza | costume design Sofie Durnez | lighting design & technique Marlies Jacques | dramaturgy Charlotte De Somviele | photography Yuri Van der Hoeven | production Platform-K & Vooruit | support Konekt, Lucky Trimmer, Stad Gent, Provincie Oost-Vlaanderen & Vlaamse Overheid

Sujets apparentés

Matinee Kadee

De jeunes artistes de cirque (0-12 ans)

workshop

De jeunes artistes de cirque (0-12 ans)
De jeunes artistes de cirque (0-12 ans)

workshop

di 28.10.18

Circus Zonder Handen est l’école de cirque inclusive par excellence de Bruxelles. Lors d’un atelier tourbillonnant, les enfants apprennent à jongler, à faire tourner des assiettes, à jeter un diabolo, et à marcher sur des tonneaux.

Benjamin Vandewalle & HYOID

annulé - In the Sky I am Walking

musique danse

annulé - In the Sky I am Walking
annulé - In the Sky I am Walking

musique

ma 15.01 - me 16.01.19

Pour des raisons productionnelles, nous sommes obligés d’annuler la représentation.

L’ensemble vocal HYOID et l'artiste en résidence au Kaaitheater Benjamin Vandewalle s’attaquent à Indianerlieder (1972) de Karlheinz Stockhausen, une œuvre iconique mais rarement interprétée. Ils créent une expérience totale qui a pour ambition de révéler la vitalité et l’intemporalité de la musique de Stockhausen. Ils se distancient de la scénographie originale et offrent au public un lieu au sein d’un rituel tridimensionnel.