Meg Stuart & Jompet Kuswidananto / Damaged Goods [US/DE/BE, ID]

Celestial Sorrow

Celestial Sorrow
Celestial Sorrow

18.01 – 24.01.2018

Unknown territories

Upon the invitation of the EUROPALIA INDONESIA festival, Meg Stuart and visual artist Jompet Kuswidananto embark on a journey of artistic investigation through collective memories and implanted fictional traumas. Imaginary and invisible spaces – and the voices that make them resonate – are one of the starting points of an adventurous leap into unknown territories. 


choreography Meg Stuart | installation Jompet Kuswidananto | created with and performed by Jule Flierl, Gaëtan Rusquet, Claire Vivianne Sobottke | live music Mieko Suzuki, Ikbal Simamora Lubys | light design Jan Maertens | costume design Jean-Paul Lespagnard | dramaturgy Jeroen Versteele | technical direction Jitske Vandenbussche | production manager Nara Virgens | production Damaged Goods (Brussels) | co-production Kaaitheater, EUROPALIA INDONESIA, Goethe-Institut Indonesien, HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm, PACT Zollverein, Tanzquartier Wien, Walker Art Center

Related content

Eko Supriyanto

Salt

dance

Salt
Salt

production

Thu 19.10.17

As a new voice within the contemporary Indonesian dance landscape, Eko Supriyanto explores the relationship between Javanese cultural heritage and the rhythm of the underwater world – a world without gravity where new perspectives emerge. He draws from his classical dance training, his diving experience, and the Javanese agricultural tradition of carving in the ground. 

Stephen O'Malley & Wukir Suryadi

Showcase: Carte Blanche to Gisèle Vienne

performance music

Showcase: Carte Blanche to Gisèle Vienne
Showcase: Carte Blanche to Gisèle Vienne

production

Wed 17.01.18

Along with Sunn O))) co-founder Stephen O’Malley, Gisèle Vienne travelled to Java and Bali to immerse herself in the magical world of performative rituals. Their encounter with musician Wukir Suryadi, co-founder of Senyawa, revealed profound resonances. This evening showcases their shared venture through a common musical philosophy.

Meg Stuart / Damaged Goods & EIRA

BLESSED

dance

BLESSED
BLESSED

production

Fri 01.06 - Sat 02.06.18

A man moves carefully between cardboard set pieces. Everything appears peaceful in this stylized paradise, until a sudden rain shower escalates into a destructive deluge. A decade after the première of BLESSED, Francisco Camacho continues to cling to a world that has long been left in ruins.

Meg Stuart & Jompet Kuswidananto / Damaged Goods [US/DE/BE, ID]

Celestial Sorrow

Celestial Sorrow
Celestial Sorrow

18.01 – 24.01.2018

Terre inconnue

À l’invitation du festival EUROPALIA INDONESIA, Meg Stuart et l’artiste indonésien Jompet Kuswidananto s’essaient à une exploration artistique à travers des mémoires collectives et des traumatismes fictifs. Des espaces imaginaires et invisibles – et les voix qui les font résonner – ne constituent que quelques-uns des points de départ de cette analyse aventureuse en terrain inconnu.

Meg Stuart démontre à nouveau son talent à prendre de risques et explorer de nouveaux territoires. - La Libre

Inspiratie haalden de Indonesische beeldend kunstenaar Jompet Kuswidananto en choreografe Meg Stuart uit Indonesische gebruiken en (bij)geloof. Maar ook zonder die wetenschap is dit stuk een echte trip. - De Morgen


choreography Meg Stuart | installation Jompet Kuswidananto | created with and performed by Jule Flierl, Gaëtan Rusquet, Claire Vivianne Sobottke | live music Mieko Suzuki, Ikbal Simamora Lubys | light design Jan Maertens | costume design Jean-Paul Lespagnard | dramaturgy Jeroen Versteele | technical direction Jitske Vandenbussche | production manager Nara Virgens | production Damaged Goods (Brussels) | co-production Kaaitheater, EUROPALIA INDONESIA, Goethe-Institut Indonesien, HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm, PACT Zollverein, Tanzquartier Wien, Walker Art Center

Sujets apparentés

Eko Supriyanto

Salt

danse

Salt
Salt

production

je 19.10.17

Cette nouvelle voix du paysage de la danse contemporaine en Indonésie engage le dialogue avec ses antécédents javanais et les marées changeantes des cultures maritimes. Salt part en quête de l’anti-gravité sous-marine alors que les cultures hiérarchiques et les perspectives de changements requièrent l’attention.

Stephen O'Malley & Wukir Suryadi

Showcase: Carte Blanche to Gisèle Vienne

performance musique

Showcase: Carte Blanche to Gisèle Vienne
Showcase: Carte Blanche to Gisèle Vienne

production

me 17.01.18

Gisèle Vienne a voyagé avec Stephen O’Malley, le cofondateur de Sunn O))), à Java et à Bali pour s’immerger dans le monde magique des rituels performatifs. Leur rencontre avec le musicien Wukir Suryadi, cofondateur de Senyawa, a révélé de profondes résonances. Cette soirée présente leur projet commun à travers une philosophie musicale partagée.

Meg Stuart / Damaged Goods & EIRA

BLESSED

danse

BLESSED
BLESSED

production

ve 01.06 - sa 02.06.18

Un homme se meut avec prudence entre des pièces de décor en carton. Tout semble paisible dans ce paradis stylisé jusqu’à la survenue d’une averse qui se transforme en déluge dévastateur. Une décennie après BLESSED, Francisco Camacho continue à s’accrocher à un monde depuis longtemps en ruine.