Philippe Quesne [FR/DE] & Münchner Kammerspiele

Caspar Western Friedrich

Caspar Western Friedrich
Caspar Western Friedrich

25.03 – 26.03.2017

Artists’ studio for cowboys

Caspar Western Friedrich combines the narrative force of the Western with the dreamy longings of Romanticism. Drawing his inspiration from the lonesome cowboy and from the paintings and personality of Caspar David Friedrich – one of the most important landscape painters of German Romanticism – Philippe Quesne builds a studio of landscapes on stage. This artist’s studio transforms the actors into painters of their own being. Just like in Westerns, they recall memories around the campfire, which they interweave with poetry and literature from the German repertoire. Caspar Western Friedrich meanders towards an unreachable horizon as time flows calmly on. Quesne created the piece in January 2016 at the Münchner Kammerspiele with the actor Johan Leysen, amongst others.

• Having studied visual arts, Philippe Quesne worked as a scenographer for theatres and museums. In 2003 he founded his company Vivarium Studio. With actors, visual artists and musicians, he creates performances as installations or vivaria in which to study the human microcosm. He has previously appeared at Kaaitheater with L’effet de Serge, La mélancolie des dragons, Big Bang, Swamp Club, Next Day (with Campo) and The night of the moles. He has been co-director of Théâtre Nanterre-Amandiers since January 2014.


with Peter Brombacher, Johan Leysen, Stefan Merki, Julia Riedler, Franz Rogowski | stage production Philippe Quesne | stage design Philippe Quesne | stage design assistant Elodie Dauguet | lighting Philippe Quesne, Pit Schultheiss | dramaturgy Johanna Höhmann | artistic assistance Leo Gobin, Elodie Dauguet | concept Philippe Quesne | support Goethe Institut & Federal Foreign Office Germany l produced by Münchner Kammerspiele l coproduced by Nanterre‑Amandiers, centre dramatique national​

Related content

A French cowboy in Munich

a conversation with Philippe Quesne

A French cowboy in Munich
A French cowboy in Munich

article

Wed 22.02.17

Mannen met cowboyhoeden, geruite hemden en cowboyboots aanschouwen een wolkenzee tussen bergtoppen. In Caspar Western Friedrich combineren Philippe Quesne en Münchner Kammerspiele de eindeloze landschappen van de romantische schilder Caspar David Friedrich met de woeste natuur van westerns. Dat resulteert in een ruimte die het midden houdt tussen museum, atelier en theaterdecor. Quesne: ‘Ik heb al vaak gedacht dat theaterscenografie een kwestie van schilderkunst is.'

Philippe Quesne [FR/DE] & Münchner Kammerspiele

Caspar Western Friedrich

Caspar Western Friedrich
Caspar Western Friedrich

25.03 – 26.03.2017

Atelier d’artiste pour cow-boys

Caspar Western Friedrich combine la force narratrice du western et le désir onirique du romantisme. Avec pour inspiration d’une part, le cow-boy solitaire et d’autre part, les tableaux et la personnalité de Caspar David Friedrich – l’un des plus grands paysagistes du romantisme allemand – Philippe Quesne construit sur scène un atelier de paysages qui transforme les acteurs en peintres de leur propre créature. De même que dans les westerns, ils évoquent des souvenirs près du feu, émaillés de poésie et de littérature du répertoire allemand. Caspar Western Friedrich serpente en direction d’un horizon inatteignable tandis que le temps, inébranlable, continue à s’écouler. Quesne a créé la pièce en janvier 2016 au Münchner Kammerspiele, avec comme comédien, entre autres, Johan Leysen.

• Après une formation en arts plastiques, Philippe Quesne travaille en tant que scénographe pour des théâtres et des musées. En 2003, il fonde sa compagnie, Vivarium Studio. Avec des acteurs, des plasticiens et des musiciens, il crée des spectacles qui ressemblent à des installations : des sortes de vivariums grandeur nature pour étudier le microcosme humain. Philippe Quesne était à plusieurs reprises l’hôte du Kaaitheater, avec L’effet de Serge, La mélancolie des dragons, Big Bang, Swamp Club, Next Day (avec Campo) et Night of the moles. Depuis janvier 2014, il est codirecteur du Théâtre Nanterre-Amandiers.


with Peter Brombacher, Johan Leysen, Stefan Merki, Julia Riedler, Franz Rogowski | stage production Philippe Quesne | stage design Philippe Quesne | stage design assistant Elodie Dauguet | lighting Philippe Quesne, Pit Schultheiss | dramaturgy Johanna Höhmann | artistic assistance Leo Gobin, Elodie Dauguet | concept Philippe Quesne | support Goethe Institut & Federal Foreign Office Germany