Lotte Van den Berg/Third Space

[Cancelled] Dying Together / Futures

[Cancelled] Dying Together / Futures
[Cancelled] Dying Together / Futures

18.09 – 19.09.2020

CANCELLED: due to corona, Lotte van de Berg and her company are unable to travel to Brussels. We are looking for a date to present the production later this season.

You are part of a group of about 35 people, and together you reflect on our times. A flexible script – both directly inspired by current affairs but also open to whatever comes up – determines the rhythm of the performance. Dying Together / Futures is an intense experience and an enlightening though experience in which you become conscious of the many connections and alliances that already exist between us.

What can we learn from a moment of collective dying? What would such a hypothetical situation tell us about the way we relate to one another in life? Dying Together is a physically performed thought exercise in which performers and the audience explore and unravel situations of collective dying. The latest instalment, Futures, focuses on the prevailing pandemic, in which people, animals, and visions of the future are dying.

• The way in which we talk to each other influences the future that we make together. Based in this conviction, Lotte van den Berg, Peter Aers and Daan ’t Sas explore new ways of dialoguing with one another under the title Building Conversation. They have appeared at Kaaitheater before, for example with a series of performative conversations (including Parliament of Things and Agonistic Conversation) and the earlier version of Dying Together (as part of Performatik). The border between the performers and audience members always blurs very quickly.


concept & development Lotte van den Berg (performer) | in collaboration with Floor van Leeuwen (performer), Gerindo Kamid Kartadinata (performer), Matteo Bifulco (performer), Nahuel Cano (performer), Salomé Mooij (performer), Polly Lapkovskaya (composition), Vinny Jones & Breg Horemans (light & set design), Tobias Staab (dramaturgy), Jakob Proyer (head of production), Vincent Beune (head of technique), Julien McHardy (research)

 

There's more

We need a collective space for reflection

a conversation with Lotte van den Berg on Dying Together/Futures

We need a collective space for reflection
We need a collective space for reflection

Interview

Tue 15.09.20

In her series Dying Together, Lotte van den Berg focuses on the moment of collective death not only of people, but also of animals, plants or ideas. Dying Together/Futures is a work-in-progress that is based on current events: the corona crisis. Lotte van den Berg: ‘Reflecting on something when you are in the midst of it is very complicated but also necessary.’

Lotte Van den Berg/Third Space

[Cancelled] Dying Together / Futures

[Cancelled]  Dying Together / Futures
[Cancelled]  Dying Together / Futures

18.09 – 19.09.2020

ANNULÉ : en raison de la persistance du coronavirus, Lotte van den Berg et sa compagnie ne peuvent se rendre à Bruxelles. Nous cherchons des dates ultérieures pour présenter le spectacle plus tard dans la saison du Kaaitheater.

Vous faites partie d’un groupe d’environ 35 personnes et réfléchissez ensemble sur notre époque. Un scénario flexible – à la fois proche de l’actualité et ouvert à tout ce qui se présente – définit le rythme du spectacle. Dying Together / Futures est une expérience intense et une réflexion éclairante dans laquelle vous prenez conscience des nombreuses connexions et alliances qui nous relient.

Que pouvons-nous apprendre d’un moment de mort collective ? Que nous raconte une telle situation hypothétique sur la manière dont nous entretenons des liens mutuels de notre vivant ? Dying Together est un exercice de réflexion, exécuté de manière physique, dans lequel les performeurs et le public explorent et décortiquent des situations de mort collective. La nouvelle partie, Futures, se concentre sur la pandémie qui règne en ce moment et tue des êtres humains, des animaux et des visions d’avenir.

• La manière dont nous nous parlons influence l’avenir que nous créons ensemble. À partir de cette conviction, Lotte van den Berg, Peter Aers et Daan’t Sas explorent, sous le nom de Building Conversation, de nouvelles manières d’engager le dialogue. Précédemment, ils ont présenté des spectacles au Kaaitheater, comme une série de discussions performatives et la version précédente de Dying Together (dans le cadre de Performatik). La frontière entre performeur et spectateur s’estompe chaque fois très vite.

 


concept & development Lotte van den Berg (performer) | in collaboration with Floor van Leeuwen (performer), Gerindo Kamid Kartadinata (performer), Matteo Bifulco (performer), Nahuel Cano (performer), Salomé Mooij (performer), Polly Lapkovskaya (composition), Vinny Jones & Breg Horemans (light & set design), Tobias Staab (dramaturgy), Jakob Proyer (head of production), Vincent Beune (head of technique), Julien McHardy (research)

 

There's more

We hebben behoefte aan een gezamenlijk denkruimte

in gesprek met Lotte van den Berg over Dying Together/Futures

We hebben behoefte aan een gezamenlijk denkruimte
We hebben behoefte aan een gezamenlijk denkruimte

Entretien

ma 15.09.20

In haar reeks Dying Together richt Lotte van den Berg zich op het moment van het collectieve sterven van mensen, maar ook van dieren, planten of ideeën. Dying Together/Futures is een work-in-progress dat vertrekt vanuit de actualiteit: de coronacrisis. Lotte van den Berg: ‘Ergens over reflecteren terwijl je er midden in zit, is heel erg ingewikkeld, maar ook noodzakelijk.’