Isabelle N'Diaye

Brussel, diasporic archipelagos

Brussel, diasporic archipelagos
Brussel, diasporic archipelagos

19.11.2022

Let us imagine Brussels as an ocean full of interdependent cultural islands, connected by the same water and separated by different modes of communication, transmission and production. What are the connection points between these different networks and how do you negotiate between Schaerbeek and Watermaël and between Saint-Gilles and the Grand Place? Brussels, diasporic archipelagos attempts an analysis of the rules of the Brussels game by putting the diasporas of Brussels and their existence in the digital circuit into conversation.

On 18 November, Kaaitheater and the Kriekelaar will become a place of transdiasporic friction with Brussels as the link. Sensitive cartography, eco-futuristic wanderings, projections, assemblages of sound and visual archives, spoken word and performances are all materials brought together to link the islands that make up the Brussels archipelago.

• After obtaining a master's degree in political science and urban governance, Isabelle N'Diaye coordinated the urban revitalization of a city in France, fighting against substandard housing but above all for the safeguard of the current inhabitants of the district. At the end of this experience, Isabelle moved to Brussels, supporting with her hands and her mind a plurality of actors who want to access spaces to build resilient and inclusive communities, for all and by all. Today, Isabelle adds to these reflections and actions on community spaces, the agenda of restorative justice, and the fight against all forms of violence, including police violence.


presented by Kaaitheater

Isabelle N'Diaye

Brussel, diasporic archipelagos

Brussel, diasporic archipelagos
Brussel, diasporic archipelagos

19.11.2022

Imaginons que Bruxelles soit un océan rempli d'îles culturelles interdépendantes, reliées par la même eau, séparées par différents modes de communication, de transmission et de production. Quels sont les points de connexion entre ces différents réseaux, comment se négocie la relation entre Schaerbeek et Watermael et entre Saint-Gilles et la Grand'Place ? Bruxelles, archipels diasporiques propose d'analyser les règles du jeu bruxellois en mettant en conversation les diasporas de Bruxelles et leurs existences dans le circuit numérique.

Le 18 novembre, le Kaaitheater et le Kriekelaar deviennent un lieu de friction transdiasporique avec Bruxelles comme lien. Cartographie sensible, déambulations éco-futuristes, projections, assemblages d'archives sonores et visuelles, spoken words et performances sont autant de matériaux réunis pour relier les îles qui composent l'archipel bruxellois.

• Après avoir obtenu un master en sciences politiques et gouvernance urbaine, Isabelle N'Diaye a coordonné la revitalisation urbaine d'une ville en France, en luttant contre l'habitat insalubre mais surtout pour la sauvegarde des habitant·es actuel·les du quartier. Au terme de cette expérience, Isabelle s'est installée à Bruxelles, soutenant avec les mains et l'esprit une pluralité d’acteur·ices qui veulent accéder à des espaces pour construire des communautés résilientes et inclusives, pour tous·tes et par tous·tes. Aujourd'hui, Isabelle ajoute à ces réflexions et actions sur les espaces communautaires, l'agenda de la justice réparatrice ainsi que la lutte contre toutes les formes de violence, y compris les violences policières.


presented by Kaaitheater