Vera Tussing & Esse Vanderbruggen [DE/BE]

Both, Two

Both, Two
Both, Two

21.02 – 22.02.2018

Being together

Two female bodies entwine until they become only one. Or three? Or… none? Where does a body actually begin? Taking the duet form as a starting point, Vera Tussing and Esse Vanderbruggen research the outer limits of human comprehensibility. What stories can we project onto this composite being with dynamic parts? Which extraordinary elements need to collide to establish something familiar? Or to establish something new? Both, Two seeks to overflow the visual with other sensory elements: hearing, touch, and imagination. A clear question resounds in this duet that both refers to the tropes of the genre but also transcends them. What does it mean nowadays to be two together?

• Vera Tussing’s work has long focused on sensory perception, such as in T-Dance (2015) and Mazing (2017). This season, she is also presenting an adaptation of The Palm of Your Hand. Since 2017, she has been an artist-in-residence at the Kaaitheater.


performance & creation Vera Tussing, Esse Vanderbruggen | dramaturgy Seb Kann | feedback Saïd Gharbi | design/costumes Sofie Durnez, Lucie Beauvert | sound Emanuele Costantini | lights Bert van Dijk | photography/video/design/copy writing Alessandra Rocchetti, Zoilly Molnar, JS Rafaeli | production Hiros & Vera Tussing/Esse Vanderbruggen | co-production Kaaitheater, Kaap, The Place, IN/FINITY | research/residencies support South East Dance, The Place, C ND Paris, Tanzhaus Zuerich, Impuls Tanz, BUDA, STUK, Cindy Daignault

Related content

Vera Tussing

Mazing

dance

Mazing
Mazing

production

Fri 08.09.17

CIRCUIT X  – Five dancers are set in motion by the audience. Networks of action emerge from simple social interactions. Be swept along and discover how Mazing creates new forms of togetherness through dance.

Vera Tussing

The Palm of Your Hand II

dance

The Palm of Your Hand II
The Palm of Your Hand II

production

Fri 17.11 - Sat 18.11.17

Continuous interaction between the performers and audience is rooted in an implicit understanding. Along with your fellow audience members, you delineate the stage in an ellipsis: this is a dance of touch. Join the performers in this adventure to discover what it means to experience tactility!

Vera Tussing & Esse Vanderbruggen [DE/BE]

Both, Two

Both, Two
Both, Two

21.02 – 22.02.2018

Être ensemble

Deux corps de femmes s’entrelacent jusqu’à ne plus en former qu’un seul. Ou trois ? Ou aucun ? Au fond, où commence un corps ? Avec un duo de danse comme point de départ, Vera Tussing et Esse Vanderbruggen explorent les limites extérieures de l’intelligibilité humaine. Quels récits pouvons-nous projeter sur ces êtres constitués de composants dynamiques ? Quels éléments extraordinaires doivent s’entrechoquer afin d’arriver à quelque chose de familier ? Ou bien parvenir à quelque chose de nouveau ? Both, Two souhaite submerger le visuel d’autres éléments sensoriels : l’ouïe, le toucher, la représentation. Au cours d’un duo qui réfère à des figures de style du genre et les transcende à la fois, une question plus limpide résonne : que peut signifier aujourd’hui être à deux ?

• Vera Tussing se concentre depuis longtemps sur la sensorialité, avec des spectacles comme T-Dance (2015) et Mazing (2017). Cette saison, elle présente une réadaptation de The Palm of Your Hand. Depuis 2017, elle est artiste en résidence au Kaaitheater.

Vera Tussing ou la danse par tous les sens. - La Libre


performance & creation Vera Tussing & Esse Vanderbruggen | sound Mike Picknett | lights Bert van Dijck | costumes Sofie Durnez | direction Vera Tussing | dramaturgy Seb Kann | feedback Saïd Gharbi | copy writing JS Rafaeli | photography Alessandra Rocchetti | video Zoilly Molnar | promotional image Joeri Thiry | production Hiros | co-production Kaaitheater, KAAP, The Place, IN/FINITY | support, research, residencies Vlaamse Gemeenschap, South East Dance, The Place, CND Paris, Tanzhaus Zuerich, ImpulsTanz , BUDA, STUK, KAAP, De Markten, Cc 't Vondel, De Warande, Stems Gallery / Cindy Daignault, Klein Verzet | tactile programme note Anna Goette, Bert Van Dijck, Lucie Beauvert, Esse Vanderbruggen & Vera Tussing | additional support and special thank you Esther Severi, Anneleen Keppens, Zoltan Vakulya, Chen Wei Lee, Gorka Gurrutxaga, Laura Poletti, Magrit Duchateau, TOPAZ, Susan Carter-Schwantes & Clara Levy

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

Sujets apparentés

Vera Tussing

Mazing

danse

Mazing
Mazing

production

ve 08.09.17

CIRCUIT X  – Cinq danseurs s’animent par la présence du public. De leurs interactions sociales simples émerge un réseau d’actions. Laissez-vous transporter et découvrez comment Mazing crée de nouvelles formes de vivre ensemble à la faveur de mouvements de danse.

Vera Tussing

The Palm of Your Hand II

danse

The Palm of Your Hand II
The Palm of Your Hand II

production

ve 17.11 - sa 18.11.17

Une interaction continue entre performeurs et public s’ancre dans une connivence tacite. Avec ses co-spectateurs, on balise une surface de jeu en forme d’ellipse : une danse du frôlement. Partez donc explorer avec les performeurs ce que signifie faire l’expérience du tactile.