Eleanor Bauer [US/BE]

BAUER HOUR #13 – Being Robert Plutchik

BAUER HOUR #13 – Being Robert Plutchik
BAUER HOUR #13 – Being Robert Plutchik

31.03.2015

Being Robert Plutchik is the result of a four-week workshop with Eleanor Bauer and a group of KASK Drama Masters students and alumnae. Sharing the same starting points as Bauer's next project, Meyoucycle (me-you-cycle), which will premiere at Kaaitheater in Spring 2016 in collaboration with Ictus contemporary music ensemble, the piece and workshop is a deconstruction and reconstruction of the musical: using the same ingredients of a musical (song, dance, text, music) but in a collective research on their performative forms, formats, and potentials.

The research and performance is organized around the "Plutchik Emotion Circumplex," a model for analyzing human emotions invented by psychologist Robert Plutchik in 1980. Being Robert Plutchik looks at a spectrum of human emotions through the experiential and analytic lens of contemporary social life and how emotions can or cannot be shared and expressed today, including the effects of technology, social media, various therapies, and more.


Direction Eleanor Bauer | Created with and performed by Mourad Baaiz, Linde Carrijn, Seppe Decubber, Lieselotte De Keyzer, Anjana Dierckx, Mathilde Strijdonk, Yuri Van Der Hoven | Thanks to Sandra Liaklev Andersen, Chris Peck, KASK / Hogent

Eleanor Bauer [US/BE]

BAUER HOUR #13 – Being Robert Plutchik

BAUER HOUR #13 – Being Robert Plutchik
BAUER HOUR #13 – Being Robert Plutchik

31.03.2015

Being Robert Plutchik est le fruit d’un atelier de quatre semaines animé par Eleanor Bauer pour un groupe d’étudiants et anciens étudiants du KASK en master d’Art dramatique. Prenant les mêmes points de départ que le prochain projet de Bauer, Meyoucycle (me-you-cycle), dont la première se déroulera au Kaaitheater au printemps 2016, en collaboration avec l’ensemble de musique contemporaine Ictus, la pièce et l’atelier sont une déconstruction et une reconstruction de la comédie musicale : on y utilise les mêmes composants que dans une comédie musicale (chanson, danse, texte et musique), mais dans le cadre d’une recherche collective sur ses formes, formules et potentialités performatives.

La recherche et le spectacle s’organisent autour de la Roue des Émotions de Plutchik, un modèle d’analyse des émotions humaines élaboré par le psychologue états-unien Robert Plutchik en 1980. Being Robert Plutchik observe un spectre d’émotions humaines à travers le prisme empirique et analytique de la vie sociale contemporaine et de la façon dont les émotions peuvent être ou ne pas être partagées et exprimées aujourd’hui, en y incluant les effets de la technologie, de réseaux sociaux, de thérapies diverses et variées, etc.


Direction Eleanor Bauer | Created with and performed by Mourad Baaiz, Linde Carrijn, Seppe Decubber, Lieselotte De Keyzer, Anjana Dierckx, Mathilde Strijdonk, Yuri Van Der Hoven | Thanks to Sandra Liaklev Andersen, Chris Peck, KASK / Hogent