Savion Glover [USA]

Bare Soundz

Bare Soundz
Bare Soundz

17.06 – 18.06.2010

Although Savion Glover is still young, he is already a dance legend. In his virtuoso performances he rediscovers the tap-dancing genre. Together with his trio he brings Caribbean beats, rhythms from hip hop, jazz and even Bach to life on the dance floor. Their show is streetwise and sublime, and an infectious performance!

Savion Glover made his debut on Broadway at the age of twelve and since then has danced with some of the greatest dancers. His appearances on Sesame Street made him into a hero for children across the US. He has also created a furore in films where, for example, he danced the steps for Mumble the penguin in the highly acclaimed Happy Feet (2006), a film which won an Oscar and many other awards. Glover was previously invited to perform in Europe by both Ivo van Hove and Pina Bausch. Now he is coming to Belgium for the very first time.

Savion Glover:
‘All I have to say comes through my body and my feet.'
'Dancing Bare Soundz is like writing a song: there’s a buzz on stage that connects us, and yet, as in jazz music, each of us can tell a story in their own way.'
'Some people assume tap dancing to be an old-fashioned or dying art form; it’s part of my mission to prove them wrong.’

The Guardian: ‘Glover's relationship with his musicians, led by pianist Tommy James, is of pure jazz equals, improvising within their Coltrane-esque sound. … This concert is one any jazz fan should catch, as should any tap lover.’

Savion Glover is the tapdancing penguin in the Oscar winning movie Happy Feet (2006)


by and with Savion Glover with Marshall Davis Jr. and Maurice Chestnut | improvography Gregory Hines | concept Original Hooferz | direction & production Savion Glover Productions | Savion Glover’s tap mic’s provided by barcus - berry®

Savion Glover [USA]

Bare Soundz

Bare Soundz
Bare Soundz

17.06 – 18.06.2010

Bien qu’il soit encore très jeune, Savion Glover est déjà une légende de la danse. Dans ses spectacles virtuoses, il réinvente les claquettes. Sur scène, avec son trio, il insuffle vie à des rythmes de la Caraïbe, du hip-hop, du jazz et même de Bach. Dégourdi et sublime, le spectacle est contagieux !

Savion Glover a fait ses débuts dès l’âge de douze ans à Broadway. Depuis lors, il a dansé avec les plus grands artistes. Grâce à ses apparitions dans Sesame Street, il est devenu un héros pour tous les enfants états-uniens. Il a également fait fureur au cinéma : c’est lui qui exécutait les claquettes que dansait si bien Mumble le manchot dans le film très récompensé – entre autres d’un Oscar – Happy Feet (2006). Savion Glover s’est déjà produit sur des scènes européennes, à l’invitation d’Ivo van Hove et de Pina Bausch, mais il est pour la première fois en Belgique.
  
Savion Glover : « Tout ce que j’ai à dire, je l’exprime à travers mon corps et mes pieds. Danser Bare Soundz équivaut à écrire une chanson : la scène vrombit de bonnes vibrations qui nous relient, mais à l’instar du jazz, chacun peut raconter son histoire à sa façon. »

The Guardian : « Glover entretient avec ses musiciens un rapport qui découle tout droit du jazz. Dirigés par le pianiste Tommy James, ils improvisent des sonorités “coltranesques”. (…) Un spectacle qu’aucun amateur de jazz ou de claquettes ne peut rater. »

Savion Glover a dansé les mouvements de Mumble, le baby pengouin dans Happy feet (2006), le film courroné de plusieurs Oscars.


by and with Savion Glover with Marshall Davis Jr. and Maurice Chestnut | improvography Gregory Hines | concept Original Hooferz | direction & production Savion Glover Productions | Savion Glover’s tap mic’s provided by barcus - berry®