Jed Martin [BE]

Autoportrait/Zelfportret

Autoportrait/Zelfportret
Autoportrait/Zelfportret

20.09 – 21.09.2018

‘As a child I always thought that one day you would simply be back. How could I have imagined that I had lost you for good? I thought I saw the same skies and treetops that I had seen when you pushed me around the garden in my pram. The many flowers in our garden reminded me of your beauty. Their smell seemed to connect me to you.’

Jed Martin – the main character in Michel Houellebecq’s The Map and the Territory – was born near Paris in 1975 as the son of an architect and a violinist. He initially worked as an object photographer, but later became popular in the visual arts with series of manipulated photos of Michelin roadmaps. He called this extensive series The map is more interesting that the territory. Martin’s relationship with reality was based almost exclusively on his visual language… Until now.

When he is forty years old, Martin writes a letter to his dead mother. She was as old as he was then, when she decided to take her own life. The combination of his words and his visual work results in a compelling self-portrait of a contemporary artist.


productie Artistes Associés Jed Martin vzw | concept Ilse Joliet | spel Joseph Drouet | coaching Christine De Smedt | tekst Ilse Joliet & Bart Van der Straeten | steun van en dank aan Stad Gent, Les Ballets C. de la B., Victoriadeluxe, Galerie KochXBos, Michel Houellebecq

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

Related content

Maarten Doorman

On Authenticity and the True Self

talk

On Authenticity and the True Self
On Authenticity and the True Self

production

Fri 21.09.18

Who are we really and can we ever be who we really are? In this social media age, we risk disappearing behind the image that others have of us. But the urge or authenticity is not new.

Jed Martin [BE]

Autoportrait/Zelfportret

Autoportrait/Zelfportret
Autoportrait/Zelfportret

20.09 – 21.09.2018

« Enfant, j’ai toujours pensé qu’un jour tu serais simplement de nouveau là. Comment imaginer à l’époque que je t’avais perdue à jamais ? Je pensais revoir le ciel et les cimes des arbres de l’époque où tu promenais ma poussette dans le jardin. Les nombreuses fleurs de notre jardin me rappelaient ta beauté. Leur parfum semblait me relier à toi. »

Jed Martin – le personnage principal du roman La carte et le territoire de Michel Houellebecq est né en 1975 en région parisienne, fils d’un architecte et d’une violoniste. Au départ, il travaille en tant que photographe d’objets, plus tard il connaîtra du succès dans le monde des arts plastiques avec des séries de photos manipulées de cartes routières Michelin. Il a intitulé cette vaste série : La carte est plus intéressante que le territoire. Martin se rapporte à la vie publique quasi exclusivement par le biais de son langage visuel… Jusqu’à présent.

À quarante ans, Martin écrit une lettre à sa mère défunte. Elle avait son âge actuel quand elle s’est suicidée. La combinaison des mots et des œuvres plastiques constitue un autoportrait pénétrant d’un artiste contemporain.


productie Artistes Associés Jed Martin vzw | concept Ilse Joliet | spel Joseph Drouet | coaching Christine De Smedt | tekst Ilse Joliet & Bart Van der Straeten | steun van en dank aan Stad Gent, Les Ballets C. de la B., Victoriadeluxe, Galerie KochXBos, Michel Houellebecq

Sujets apparentés

Maarten Doorman

À propos d’authenticité et du véritable soi

talk

À propos d’authenticité et du véritable soi
À propos d’authenticité et du véritable soi

production

ve 21.09.18

Qui sommes-nous réellement et puis-je vraiment être qui je suis ? À l’ère des réseaux sociaux, nous risquons de disparaître derrière l’image que les autres se font de nous. Mais cet attrait de l’authenticité existe depuis plus longtemps.