Kate McIntosh [Brussels]

All Natural

All Natural
All Natural

12.10.2006

A performance that is a cross between stand-up comedy and a Las Vegas dance routine

The performance artist Kate McIntosh originally comes from New Zeeland and lives and works in Brussels where, among other things, she is a member of the Poni performance collective. You will be able to see her at work this season with two of her own productions.

In All Natural she appears alone on stage, supported by a script by Jo Anderson and a sound decor by Charo Calvo. She asks herself, and her audience, about man’s ‘natural state’. All Natural is a cross between stand-up comedy and a Las Vegas dance routine; mention is made of a slovenly showgirl, a pregnancy and an exploding biscuit, and there are several attempts to come into contact with the audience.

With plenty of humour Kate McIntosh links together texts, movements, actions and images on stage as she assumes one identity after another. In her search for the ‘naturalness’ everyone is seeking to achieve, she takes on the confusing and fluid forms of different characters who in their turn always seem to elude her. We are left with uncertainty and relativity, a sense of loss and failure: indeed this might well be ‘our natural state of being’.

‘I have an instinct for failure. I can smell it coming. It’s a natural thing. Yeah , I can smell it now…’


concept, mise en scène, interprétation Kate McIntosh
texte Jo Randerson
concept son Charo Calvo
conseil artistique Diederik Peeters
coproduction Plateaux (Künstlerhaus MOUSONTURM - Frankfurt), Productiehuis Rotterdam (Rotterdamse Schouwburg), Nadine (bruxelles)
avec le soutien de Margarita Productions (Bruxelles) & Kaaitheater

Related content

Kate McIntosh

Kate McIntosh
Kate McIntosh

artist

Kaaitheater artist-in-residence 2017-2021

Kate McIntosh [Brussels]

All Natural

All Natural
All Natural

12.10.2006

Une performance à mi-chemin entre la stand-up comedy et la revue style Las Vegas

La Néo-Zélandaise Kate McIntosh, artiste de performance, vit et travaille à Bruxelles où elle est, entre autres, membre du collectif Poni. Cette saison, vous pourrez la voir à l’œuvre avec deux de ses propres spectacles.

Dans All Natural, elle est seule en scène, soutenue par le scénario de Jo Andersen et le décor sonore de Charo Calvo. Elle s’interroge, ainsi que le public, sur « l’état naturel » de l’être humain. All Natural se situe à mi-chemin entre la stand-up comedy et les danses et routinières des revues que l’on voit à Las Vegas. Il y est question d’une show-girl à l’allure débraillée, d’une grossesse, d’un biscuit explosif et de quelques tentatives honnêtes d’établir un contact avec le public.

Sur la scène, Kate McIntosh relie les textes, les mouvements, les actions et les images avec beaucoup d’humour tandis qu’elle adopte une identité après l’autre. Dans sa quête de ce « naturel » que tout un chacun voudrait tellement atteindre, elle se métamorphose en plusieurs personnages déroutants et fluides, qui ne cessent de lui échapper. Il ne subsiste qu’incertitude et relativité, sentiment de perte et d’échec. Peut-être est-ce là notre « état naturel » ?

« J’ai un instinct pour l’échec. Je le sens venir. C’est naturel. Oui, je le sens en ce moment…  


concept, mise en scène, interprétation Kate McIntosh
texte Jo Randerson
concept son Charo Calvo
conseil artistique Diederik Peeters
coproduction Plateaux (Künstlerhaus MOUSONTURM - Frankfurt), Productiehuis Rotterdam (Rotterdamse Schouwburg), Nadine (bruxelles)
avec le soutien de Margarita Productions (Bruxelles) & Kaaitheater

There's more

Kate McIntosh

Kate McIntosh
Kate McIntosh

artiste

Kaaitheater artist-in-residence 2017-2021