Radouan Mriziga

Akal – the earth

Akal
Akal

20.01 – 21.01.2022

Can you use choreography to fill in the gaps in our historical memory? In Akal, the final part of his latest trilogy, Radouan Mriziga once again focuses on the knowledge of the Imazighen, the indigenous people of North Africa. Their oral culture was left unrecognised for centuries, but for Mriziga it is a source of inspiration for the future. Each part of the trilogy is a solo for a dancer and revolves around a mythological female figure who in her own way embodies and passes on the knowledge of Amazigh culture.

In Akal, (Earth in Tamazight) the ancient Egyptian goddess Neith, who guides the souls of the dead to the underworld, is central. For this solo, Mriziga has invited the Rwandan dancer, singer and choreographer Dorothée Munyaneza. In an intimate setting, you will be treated to a mix of rituals, traditional dance, architecture, storytelling, singing, poetry and rap. This fresh look at an oppressed past makes you dream of a more inclusive future.

• Choreographer and dancer Radouan Mriziga studied dance in Marrakech and Tunisia, and continued his education at PARTS in Brussels. He has since 2014 been supported by Nomadic Arts Centre Moussem. From 2017 to 2021, he was artist-in-residence at Kaaitheater.


concept & choreography Radouan Mriziga | by and with Dorothée Munyaneza | movement transmission Maïté Minh Tâm Jeannolin, Sondos Belhassen | research support Esther Severi, Hajar Ibnouthen | scenographic concept Estelle Gautier, Tewa Barnosa, Radouan Mriziga | visual artist Tewa Barnosa | light design Estelle Gautier, Tewa Barnosa | technical director Estelle Gautier | costumes Lila John | production A7LA5 | in collaboration with Something Great | co-production Kaaitheater, De Singel, Tanzquartier Wien, PACT Zollverein, Festival de Marseille, Walker Art Center, Wexner Center for the Arts, Contemporary Arts Center, C-Mine | distribution & tour management Something Great | funded by De Vlaamse Overheid

Radouan Mriziga

Akal – the earth

Akal
Akal

20.01 – 21.01.2022

Est-il possible d'utiliser la chorégraphie pour combler les lacunes de notre mémoire historique ? Dans Akal, le nouveau volet de sa dernière trilogie, Radouan Mriziga s'intéresse une fois de plus aux savoirs des Imazighen, le peuple indigène d'Afrique du Nord. Leur culture orale n'a pas été reconnue pendant des siècles mais pour Mriziga, elle offre une source d'inspiration pour l'avenir. Chaque partie de la trilogie est un solo pour une danseuse et est centrée autour d'une figure mythologique féminine qui, à sa manière, incarne et transmet le savoir de la culture amazighe.

Akal (Terre en tamazight) est axée sur l'ancienne déesse égyptienne Neith, qui guide les âmes des morts vers l’inframonde. Pour ce solo, Mriziga a invité la danseuse, chanteuse et chorégraphe rwandaise Dorothée Munyaneza. Vous assisterez dans un cadre intime, à un mélange de rituels, de danse traditionnelle, d'architecture, de contes, de chants, de poésie et de rap. Ce regard neuf posé sur un passé d’oppression vous fait rêver d'un avenir plus inclusif.

• Le chorégraphe et danseur Radouan Mriziga a suivi une formation en danse à Marrakech ainsi qu'en Tunisie, et a poursuivi son parcours à PARTS à Bruxelles. Depuis 2014, il est soutenu par le Centre des arts nomades de Moussem. De 2017 à 2021, il a été artiste en résidence au Kaaitheater.


concept & choreography Radouan Mriziga | by and with Dorothée Munyaneza | movement transmission Maïté Minh Tâm Jeannolin, Sondos Belhassen | research support Esther Severi, Hajar Ibnouthen | scenographic concept Estelle Gautier, Tewa Barnosa, Radouan Mriziga | visual artist Tewa Barnosa | light design Estelle Gautier, Tewa Barnosa | technical director Estelle Gautier | costumes Lila John | production A7LA5 | in collaboration with Something Great | co-production Kaaitheater, De Singel, Tanzquartier Wien, PACT Zollverein, Festival de Marseille, Walker Art Center, Wexner Center for the Arts, Contemporary Arts Center, C-Mine | distribution & tour management Something Great | funded by De Vlaamse Overheid