Kris Verdonck [BE]

Actor #1

Actor #1
Actor #1

14.01 – 16.01.2010

The artist and theatre-maker Kris Verdonck quite often combines his fascination with machines with images and concepts that owe a lot to science fiction. This certainly applies to the three-part Actor #1.

The first part, called Mass, shows an odd, poetic landscape in which chemical and physical processes are taking place. A landscape of constantly moving sculpted mists.

In Huminid, we are addressed by a creature that can be called part human and part doll. The actor Johan Leysen is not physically present, but has lent his voice and face to the doll.

In Dancer #3 we see a robot trying to stand up straight; he always falls down again, but never gives up. He endures this process of trial and error cheerfully and indefatigably. His energy and clumsiness display the optimism of a clown who’s always tripping over.

Actor #1 is about evolving: about what has come into being, what is, and what may come into being. Three variations on the metamorphosis from chaos to order.

The three parts of the performance are shown in separate rooms at the Kaaistudios, and a guide takes you from one to the other.

PARTY with dj Hannah P. + surprise guests
16/1 - 23u - Kaaistudio’s - free entrance
 
In January 2010, Kris Verdonck is founding his own company. The new group name will be revealed during a party, after the last Actor#1 show of the series at the Kaaistudio’s. Welcome!

concept & direction Kris Verdonck | dramaturgy Marianne Van Kerkhoven (Kaaitheater) | performer (on film) Johan Leysen, Jean Paul Van Bendegem | construction Sylvain Spinoit, Atelier 26, Steven Blum | software & electronics Felix Luque | sound design Thomas Turine | video Vincent Pinckaers | light design Luc Schaltin (Kaaitheater), Kris Verdonck | production manager Hendrik De Smedt | production Margarita Production for stilllab vzw | technical coordination Colin Legras | co-production Kaaitheater (B), Kunstencentrum Vooruit (B), Buda kunstencentrum (B), Le manège.mons/CECN (B), Transdigital/TechnocITé (B) | a project initiated by la chartreuse (F) in the frame of its research on robots and theatre | scientific research Jean-Jacques Cassiman, Dirk De Ridder, Philippe Fraisse, Jean Paul Van Bendegem, Dirk Van Hulle | support Vlaamse Overheid, Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie | thanks to Acapella digital voice, Arne Vanneste, LIRMM (F)

Related content

Kris Verdonck

Kris Verdonck
Kris Verdonck

artist

Kaaitheater artist-in-residence 2013-2016

Kris Verdonck [BE]

Actor #1

Actor #1
Actor #1

14.01 – 16.01.2010

L’artiste et créateur de théâtre Kris Verdonck associe plus d’une fois sa fascination pour les machines à des images et des concepts qui rappellent la science-fiction. Il en va de même pour le spectacle en trois volets Actor #1.

La première partie, Mass, montre un paysage poétique étrange dans lequel se déroulent des processus chimiques et physiques. Un paysage composé de brumes sculptées en mouvance permanente.

Dans Huminid, une créature mi-humaine, mi-marionnette s’adresse à nous : le comédien Johan Leysen n’est pas présent en direct, mais a prêté sa voix et son visage à la marionnette.

Dans Dancer #3, nous voyons un robot qui tente de se redresser ; il ne cesse de tomber, mais n’abandonne pas. Infatigable, il subit ce procédé d’essais et d’erreurs avec joie. Son énergie et sa maladresse dégagent le même optimisme que le clown qui trébuche sans arrêt.

Actor #1 traite du devenir : ce qui a germé, est en train de germer ou germera. Trois variantes de la métamorphose du chaos vers l’ordre.

Les trois volets du spectacle sont présentés dans des espaces différents des Kaaistudio’s, un guide vous mène d’une pièce à l’autre.

PARTY with dj Hannah P. + surprise guests
16/1 - 23h - Kaaistudio’s - gratuit
 
À partir de 2010, Kris Verdonck fonde sa propre compagnie. Le nouveau nom du groupe sera dévoilé lors d’une fête après de la dernière représentation d’Actor#1 aux Kaaistudio’s. Soyez les bienvenus !

concept & direction Kris Verdonck | dramaturgy Marianne Van Kerkhoven (Kaaitheater) | performer (on film) Johan Leysen, Jean Paul Van Bendegem | construction Sylvain Spinoit, Atelier 26, Steven Blum | software & electronics Felix Luque | sound design Thomas Turine | video Vincent Pinckaers | light design Luc Schaltin (Kaaitheater), Kris Verdonck | production manager Hendrik De Smedt | production Margarita Production for stilllab vzw | technical coordination Colin Legras | co-production Kaaitheater (B), Kunstencentrum Vooruit (B), Buda kunstencentrum (B), Le manège.mons/CECN (B), Transdigital/TechnocITé (B) | a project initiated by la chartreuse (F) in the frame of its research on robots and theatre | scientific research Jean-Jacques Cassiman, Dirk De Ridder, Philippe Fraisse, Jean Paul Van Bendegem, Dirk Van Hulle | support Vlaamse Overheid, Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie | thanks to Acapella digital voice, Arne Vanneste, LIRMM (F)

Sujets apparentés

Kris Verdonck

Kris Verdonck
Kris Verdonck

artiste

Kaaitheater artist-in-residence 2013-2016