Maria Jerez & Edurne Rubio

A nublo

A nublo
A nublo

25.06 – 26.06.2021

According to an old Spanish folk tradition, villagers used to cry directly into the cloudy sky to ward off an approaching storm. With a canticle, they tried to scare away lightning and turn hail into raindrops. A nublo!

This performance without players places you in the eye of the storm and in the middle of an intense sensory experience, in a landscape that is halfway between the scenography of an opera and a cloudy valley, between geology and an amusement park. The characters you meet there are neither people nor animals, neither monsters nor gods, but rather natural phenomena. In the microclimate of the theatre space, geodynamic and atmospheric processes come into play, at the juxtaposition where the nature of the theatre and the audience meet and influence each other.

• Edurne Rubio is a visual artist. Her work leans towards documentary and takes off from orality and storytelling. María Jerez creates work at the intersection of choreography, film and visual art. With her work, she wants to open up spaces of possibility through the encounter with what is foreign to us. A nublo is the first performance they have made together.


concept & performance Edurne Rubio & María Jerez | light design Leticia Skrycky with the collaboration of Santiago Rodríguez Tricot | sound design Charo Calvo | technical assistance Chris van Goethem, Olivier Theys a.o. | co-production Centro Cultural Conde Duque, Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek, Buda Kunstencentrum, BE Festival, far ° fabrique des arts vivants, Noorderzon / Grand Theater | support Madrid City Council, the Flemish Community, The Flemish Community Commission (VGC), wpZimmer, TNT (Terrassa)

There's more

Programme leaflet 'A Nublo'

Programme leaflet 'A Nublo'
Programme leaflet 'A Nublo'

Programme leaflet

Thu 24.06.21

Read more about A Nublo

Maria Jerez & Edurne Rubio

A nublo

A nublo
A nublo

25.06 – 26.06.2021

Selon une vieille tradition populaire espagnole, les villageois invoquaient directement le ciel nuageux pour écarter l’approche d’une tempête. Avec un hymne, ils essayaient de chasser l’éclair et de transformer la grêle en gouttes de pluie. A nublo !

Cette performance sans acteurs nous place dans l’œil du cyclone et au cœur d’une expérience sensorielle intense – dans un paysage à mi-chemin entre la scénographie d’un opéra et une vallée nuageuse, entre la géologie et un parc d’attractions. Les personnages qu’on y rencontre ne sont ni des humains ni des animaux, ni des monstres ni des dieux, mais plutôt : des phénomènes naturels. Dans le microclimat de l’espace théâtral, des processus géodynamiques et atmosphériques s’enclenchent, à l’endroit où la nature du théâtre et le public se rencontrent et s’influencent.

• Edurne Rubio est plasticien. Son travail est de nature documentaire et prend comme point de départ l’oralité et la narration. María Jerez crée des œuvres à la croisée de la chorégraphie, du cinéma et des arts visuels, dans lesquelles elle tente d’ouvrir le champ des possibles à travers la rencontre avec ce qui nous est étranger. A nublo est le premier spectacle qu’elles créent ensemble.


concept & performance Edurne Rubio & María Jerez | light design Leticia Skrycky with the collaboration of Santiago Rodríguez Tricot | sound design Charo Calvo | technical assistance Chris van Goethem, Olivier Theys a.o. | co-production Centro Cultural Conde Duque, Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek, Buda Kunstencentrum, BE Festival, far ° fabrique des arts vivants, Noorderzon / Grand Theater | support Madrid City Council, the Flemish Community, The Flemish Community Commission (VGC), wpZimmer, TNT (Terrassa)