Eleanor Bauer / Good Move [US/BE]

A Dance for the Newest Age (the triangle piece)

A Dance for the Newest Age (the triangle piece)
A Dance for the Newest Age (the triangle piece)

16.12 – 18.12.2011

The audience sits on all three sides of an equilateral triangle. In the middle, six dancers circulate, following a symmetrical system. In A Dance for the Newest Age (the triangle piece), which premiered at the Kaaitheater last season and was received with enthusiasm, the Brussels-based American choreographer Eleanor Bauer examines the unseen principles that direct matter and movement. Past and present views of energy provide the starting point for a brilliant piece of choreography on three-part paradigms taken from science, art, philosophy and society: solid-liquid-gas, head-hand-heart, nature-society-spirituality, and sensation-imagination-expression, and antiquity-modernity-New Age. A Dance for the Newest Age is focused on dance, insatiable and greedy. ‘Everything comes: bring it on!’

• Eleanor Bauer (Santa Fe, 1983) studied at the Tisch School of the Arts in New York and then went to Brussels for a course at PARTS. While there she created the hilarious solo ELEANOR! In recent seasons she has toured with Rosas’ and Anne Teresa De Keersmaekers’ The Song and presented her own performance (BIG GIRLS DO BIG THINGS) at the Kaaistudio’s, a ‘stunning solo exploration of performance art’ (De Morgen).

In May 2012 we shall be putting on the premiere of Tentative Assembly (the tent piece), the sequel to A Dance for the Newest Age (the triangle piece). In these performances, Eleanor Bauer uses the body as an instrument to capture contemporary human experience in all its urgency and complexity.


choreography Eleanor Bauer | creation, performance Eleanor Bauer, Cecilia Lisa Eliceche, Dolores Hulan, Liz Kinoshita, Thibault Lac, Naiara Mendioroz | Music Chris Peck | lighting Bardia Mohammad | dramaturgy Jeroen Peeters | costumes Ada Rajszys | special thanks to Beth Gill, Paul Laffoley, Mårten Spångberg, Anna Whaley | production Caravan Production for GoodMove vzw | co-production Kaaitheater (Brussels), Vooruit (Gent), STUK (Leuven) | in collaboration with BUDA (Kortrijk), ImPulsTanz Festival (Vienna) | support Vlaamse Gemeenschap, de Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie van het Brussels Hoofdstedelijk Gewest

There's more

Eleanor Bauer

Eleanor Bauer
Eleanor Bauer

artist

Kaaitheater artist-in-residence 2013-2016

Eleanor Bauer / Good Move [US/BE]

A Dance for the Newest Age (the triangle piece)

A Dance for the Newest Age (the triangle piece)
A Dance for the Newest Age (the triangle piece)

16.12 – 18.12.2011

Le public prend place des trois côtés d’un triangle équilatéral. Au milieu, six danseurs circulent dans un système symétrique. Avec A Dance for the Newest Age, dont la première a eu lieu la saison passée au Kaaitheater et a connu un accueil enthousiaste, la chorégraphe bruxello-états-unienne Eleanor Bauer analyse les principes invisibles qui sous-tendent la matière et les mouvements. Des conceptions anciennes et nouvelles sur l’énergie constituent le point de départ d’une chorégraphie brillante autour de triples paradigmes de la science, de l’art, de la philosophie et de la société : solide-liquide-gaz, tête-main-cœur, nature-société-spiritualité, sensation-imagination-expression, antiquité-modernité-New Age, etc. La danse, insatiable et gourmande, est véritablement au cœur de ce spectacle. Everything comes: bring it on!

• Eleanor Bauer (1983, Santa Fe) a étudié à la Tisch School of the Arts à New York, avant de venir à Bruxelles suivre une formation à PARTS. Elle a réalisé, entre autres, le solo désopilant ELEANOR! La saison passée, elle est partie en tournée avec Rosas et Anne Teresa De Keersmaekers pour le spectacle The Song et a présenté sa propre production aux Kaaistudio’s, (BIG GIRLS DO BIG THINGS), « un stupéfiant solo d’exploration des arts scéniques » (De Morgen).

En mai 2012, le Kaaitheater présente la première du spectacle Tentative Assembly (the tent piece), la suite de la pièce A Dance for the Newest Age (the triangle piece). Avec ces deux productions, Eleanor Bauer engage le corps en tant qu’instrument en vue de saisir l’expérience humaine contemporaine dans toute son urgence et sa complexité.


choreography Eleanor Bauer | creation, performance Eleanor Bauer, Cecilia Lisa Eliceche, Dolores Hulan, Liz Kinoshita, Thibault Lac, Naiara Mendioroz | Music Chris Peck | lighting Bardia Mohammad | dramaturgy Jeroen Peeters | costumes Ada Rajszys | special thanks to Beth Gill, Paul Laffoley, Mårten Spångberg, Anna Whaley | production Caravan Production for GoodMove vzw | co-production Kaaitheater (Brussels), Vooruit (Gent), STUK (Leuven) | in collaboration with BUDA (Kortrijk), ImPulsTanz Festival (Vienna) | support Vlaamse Gemeenschap, de Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie van het Brussels Hoofdstedelijk Gewest

There's more

Eleanor Bauer

Eleanor Bauer
Eleanor Bauer

artiste

Kaaitheater artist-in-residence 2013-2016