Radouan Mriziga [MA/BE]

55

55
55

24.01 – 23.11.2017

The sensual and the rational

55 is the very first piece that the Moroccan choreographer Radouan Mriziga has created himself. The piece premiered in 2014 at Kaaistudios and was also performed during Kunstenfestivaldesarts in 2015. Since then, Mriziga has been touring with this solo all over the world.

What makes 55 so unique is Mriziga’s specific dance language: a confrontation between corporeality and strict concepts, and between the sensual and the rational. Using his own body as a measure, he creates an architectural form. For him, dance or movement is a way of achieving something different. Slowly and securely, he sets to work, subtly playing with your expectations. In this piece, his background and various different influences come together to create a fascinating hybrid.

• After studying dance in Morocco, Tunisia and France, Radouan Mriziga graduated from PARTS. He now lives and works in Brussels. Last season at Kaaistudios, he staged 3600, which follows on from 55 as the second part of a trilogy. The final piece, 7, will be performed later this season. He is artist-in-residence at the Kaaitheater.


concept and performance Radouan Mriziga | production Moussem Nomadic Arts Centre | co-production C-mine (Genk), WP Zimmer (Antwerpen) | in collaboration with Cultuurcentrum Berchem, Pianofabriek (Brussel), O Espaço do Tempo (Portugal), STUK (Leuven)

Related content

Radouan Mriziga

7

dance

7
7

production

Wed 17.05 - Sat 20.05.17

Every age has its own wonders of the world. An idea of the impossible that gets built anyway, bigger and more impressive than anything that preceded it. In 7, Radouan Mriziga juxtaposes two benchmarks: the constructed world, built to impress, and the ultimate wonder of the world, the human body itself.

Radouan Mriziga

Radouan Mriziga
Radouan Mriziga

artist

Kaaitheater artist-in-residence 2017-2021

Radouan Mriziga [MA/BE]

55

55
55

24.01 – 23.11.2017

Sensualité et rationalité

55 est la première création du danseur et chorégraphe marocain Radouan Mriziga. La première de la pièce a eu lieu en 2014 aux Kaaistudio’s et était à l’affiche du Kunstenfestivaldesarts l’année suivante. Depuis, Mriziga effectue des tournées dans le monde entier avec ce solo.

Ce qui rend 55 si particulier est le vocabulaire gestuel très spécifique de Mriziga : un affrontement entre corporalité et concepts stricts, entre sensualité et rationalité. Avec son propre corps comme mesure, il crée une forme architecturale. La danse ou le mouvement est pour lui un moyen d’atteindre autre chose. Il opère avec lenteur et assurance, jouant de manière subtile avec les attentes du public. Ses antécédents et ses diverses influences convergent dans ce solo en un spectacle hybride passionnant.

• Après des études de danses au Maroc, en Tunisie et en France, Radouan Mriziga a suivi la formation de PARTS. Entre-temps, il vit et travaille à Bruxelles. La saison passée, il était l’hôte du Kaaitheater avec le spectacle 3600, le deuxième volet de la trilogie entamée avec 55. Plus tard dans la saison, nous présentons la troisième partie, 7. Radouan Mriziga est artiste en résidence au Kaaitheater.


concept and performance Radouan Mriziga | production Moussem Nomadic Arts Centre | co-production C-mine (Genk), WP Zimmer (Antwerpen) | in collaboration with Cultuurcentrum Berchem, Pianofabriek (Brussel), O Espaço do Tempo (Portugal), STUK (Leuven)

Sujets apparentés

Radouan Mriziga

7

danse

7
7

production

me 17.05 - sa 20.05.17

Chaque époque connaît ses merveilles du monde. Une idée de l’impossible que l’on édifie néanmoins, en plus grand et plus impressionnant que tout ce qui a précédé. Dans 7, Radouan Mriziga met ces deux critères en regard : le monde construit pour en imposer et la merveille ultime, le corps humain lui-même.

Radouan Mriziga

Radouan Mriziga
Radouan Mriziga

artiste

Kaaitheater artist-in-residence 2017-2021